Where in the world are YOU?

This is an experiment which may fail miserably, and that’s ok.

If you ever happen to stumble upon this post, won’t you do me a favour and write down where you are from and whatever else you feel like saying, in the comments section? If you don’t wanna, well obviously you won’t and I will be none the wiser :)

Even if you find this post years after it was posted, it would be cool to hear about other bloggers out there, so please post. 

Can anyone tell that I am feeling a little lonely out here in the blogosphere?

I shall tell you in case you haven’t figured it out: I am from South Africa (Durban to be precise). I lived in Cape Town for 5 years. I have also lived in Botswana. Right now I am living in the UK.  I am sure I will be moving somewhere else in the world at some point. I think I am one of those people who feels that moving will solve all her problems. I know it isn’t true, but worth a try, no?


(pic is of Boulders Bay, Simonstown, Cape Town. Copyright of Po).
45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cybersass
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 04:29:00

    me first, me first!!! ;-) i’ve had the good fortune to travel the world pretty extensively in my other life as wife of a hollywood actor, (from moscow to fiji – literally, on one trip) so i’ve been pretty much to every continent, excluding the poles. of all the places i miss topanga, where i lived for 12 years and which i still regard as home, even though i grew up in cape town. now living in johannesburg for the last 3 years. will probably land up elsewhere eventually. topanga? thailand? europe? who knows!

    Reply

  2. po
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 04:51:00

    cybersassyay! A reply and so soon too :)I am envious of your travels. It must be great to travel so much, but also good to have a place you can call home and come back to when the travelling shoes get worn.

    Reply

  3. sleepyjane
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 14:04:00

    I’m also from South Africa. :) Born and bred and still living here. :)

    Reply

  4. po
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 18:26:00

    I miss home so much at the moment it isn’t funny.

    Reply

  5. Ches
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 19:47:00

    Ha ha…feeling lonely hey?!I lived in New Zealand once…but then I realised it may have been Mordor…Orcs and goblins everywhere!

    Reply

  6. po
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 19:51:00

    My friends call me a hobbit on account of being short, not cos of hairy feet :), so maybe New Zealand is my destiny.Speaking of, I saw this movie called Black Sheep set in NZ and my god I have never looked at sheep the same way since. Or NZ.

    Reply

  7. A broad
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 21:16:00

    I am South African, lived in George, Cape Town and Stellenbosch. Lived in the UK for four years and now living in the USA!

    Reply

  8. redsaid
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 03:27:00

    Born in South Africa. Lived in the Bushveld; Pretoria; Johannesburg; Washington, D.C.; Baltimore, Maryland; George; Stellenbosch… who knows where to next?

    Reply

  9. po
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 04:01:00

    kay, so from this intensive research I conclude: The world is populated entirely with South Africans! World domination is sweet.

    Reply

  10. redsaid
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 13:15:00

    Grr. I think I just lost a comment. (Not sure if you received it though. Let me know and I’ll repost. Was about royal girlfriends.)P.S. Cybersass? “Wife of a Hollywood actor”? Oh, the sensationalist journalist in me SOOOO wanna know who… I don’t like discretion, ha ha! So spill it, baby. We won’t tell, promise! :-D

    Reply

  11. Art and Poetry
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 16:09:00

    I am from Great Britain, and it’s true moving will not solve anything but I am thinking about it.Bye!

    Reply

  12. po
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 16:37:00

    redsaid: definitely lost your comment about royal girlfriends! Now you have my interest!cybersass:I think you have us intrigued for sure.art and poetry: living in a new country is a stressful but exciting experience. Where you thinking of going? I am thinking of moving too, but have no clue where to.

    Reply

  13. justBcoz
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 19:00:00

    Hey hey =)Born and bred Cape Town gal …

    Reply

  14. po
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 19:56:00

    Cape Town, hope to retire there some day, if I don’t get to move back there soon!

    Reply

  15. sass
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 01:15:00

    po and redsaid – all i’ll say is, there’s a link somewhere in one of my posts which reveals his identity! ;-)though, if you google my real name, it’s pretty easy to find.

    Reply

  16. po
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 06:08:00

    Sassokay I got it. Wow.

    Reply

  17. Miss Sparkles
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 12:28:00

    I’m originally from Durban. I’ve lived in Cape Town and now live in Johannesburg. I haven’t travelled enough…boo!

    Reply

  18. Mona Lize
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 22:21:00

    Another travelling South African. We’re a global generation now, huh!I’m based in Dubai and have the good fortune of ending up visiting a different world city almost every week. Please feel free to leave comments on my blog too, mmk?

    Reply

  19. po
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 22:50:00

    Hi mona lizeDubai, hmm, warm weather! I have spent loads of time in Dubai because G, my partner’s parents lived there and we usually visit for xmas. But they have just moved to Thailand. What a hard life visiting relatives in awesome places!

    Reply

  20. Nick van der Leek
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 13:37:00

    Rosebak, JHB South Africa. Rather be in Perth.

    Reply

  21. Elize
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 00:29:00

    Born in Germiston, South Africa. Now living near Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

    Reply

  22. po
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 01:33:00

    Hey Elize, I have never been to the Netherlands. Hopefully one day!

    Reply

  23. nemesis
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 19:15:00

    Doing the great South African trek from Pretoria now living in Cape Town

    Reply

  24. po
    Sep 15, 2008 @ 19:21:00

    I don’t really know Pretoria, all I remember from my brief visit was lots of purple flowers.

    Reply

  25. MsBehavn
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 23:08:00

    I hail from the huge East Rand town of Benoni. That would be right next door to Boksburg-by-the-sea (aka Wild Waters). It’s a scary place LOL

    Reply

  26. ladyfi
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 22:24:00

    I’m a Brit who was born in Mexico and moved around the world a lot before settling down in Sweden – of all places!Feel a special warmth for South Africa as that is where my kids were born.

    Reply

  27. SwissTwist
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 02:04:00

    hiya!I’m a South African living in Zürich, Switzerland!Nice to read blogs of other Saffs’s abroad :-)

    Reply

  28. po
    Nov 03, 2008 @ 02:12:00

    Wow swisstwist, I went on holiday to Switzerland last year, and it was fantastic. We walked in the mountains. We never made it to Zurich though. I have heard they are going to become strict and introduce Schengen visas to Swtizerland :(

    Reply

  29. Medio Pomelo
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 03:20:00

    That is A LOT of Saffs all over the place… I’m Hungarian, living in Budapest, having lived in London and Madrid for years before and guess what, a temp agency last summer put me into the office of SAB Miller in Budapest and now I have a giant rugbyplaying Suffa boyfriend who just moved to Romania!!!! :)))

    Reply

  30. po
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 06:20:00

    medio pomelo: and I was starting to think the world was composed only of Saffas! How bizzarre that you end up with a SAFFA boyfriend. Pity that he moved?P.S. I love your blog.

    Reply

  31. Moe Wanchuk
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 20:20:00

    My name is Moe and I live in Minneapolis, Minnesota USA. Minnesota is a wonderful state located in the North, right by Canada. It’s a highly educated area, new, fun and very safe. It gets very very cold here in the winter which I think is the reason we don’t have much “riff raff” here. Winter is now here…it’s 6 degrees which is -14c in your part of the world.I wish I had the chance to travel as much as you S.A.ers. PS….I love your blog

    Reply

  32. po
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 22:01:00

    Moe: Yeah, wasnt part of Fargo based there? I seem to remember the main character going to the “the city”. I could be wrong.I tend to remember US cities by the movies that feature them.As to moving around, I feel sometimes that it would be nice to stay in one place and have somewhere to call home.

    Reply

  33. Joanne
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 22:13:00

    Hi, I am english by birth, lived in Manchester till I was 10 and then moved to SA. I am now living in Cape Town and absolutely LOVE IT!!! I am in Surrey at the moment doing some carer work but cant wait to go home on the 29th. I think you should pack up and come home;)

    Reply

  34. PiNG aka Patti
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 00:10:00

    Born and raised in New York, USA, now living in Denmark :)

    Reply

  35. karin
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 00:32:00

    Born in West Prussia, now Poland, lived in Germany, and now Canada – out west! Have also lived in the USA – many states. Have visited England, Germany, Italy, Austria, Switzerland and Israel. Been around! Now I’m old and gray and retired and don’t have much strength to travel. So, I read blogs! Came by way of Carmine Superiore! Fun place!

    Reply

  36. henno
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 08:55:00

    Born in Sandton (hah!)m bred in Stellenbosch, been living in Saigon, Vietnm for three years and about to move to Brisbane, Oz in a few months.The Saffa Diaspora continues…

    Reply

  37. Champagne Heathen
    May 08, 2009 @ 14:37:00

    I’m in Jo’burg. About to leave the office to go to a wedding on Wedding Mile (Muldersdrift). And I am moving to Melbourne in 2 months for about 4 years. And I think I have a cold :( But yet, I am quite chipper :)

    Reply

  38. DelBoy
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 08:02:12

    I've seen your comments on 6k's blog but never followed the link to your blog… until now!Born in SA (PE to be exact then moved to Cape Town for 2 years then my teens in George). After Uni of Stellies, went 'backpacking' in Europe. Lived in Israel for 6 months then Greece for 6 months, then about 9 years in the UK and 2 years in Italy.Now settled with a wife and 2 great kids in Melbourne, Australia. For good! Unless I win the lotto!

    Reply

  39. nicola jarvis
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 01:11:37

    ooh liked reading this, i lived in south africa for 10 yrs as a child thro to adulthood so had the great experience of schooling, college and work, then i went back to my place of birth as my family had gone back and i was ill in sa on my own .. shame to say i havent been back at all since, i am in touch with my best friend and junior schoolfriend who i found on internet site…the travel bug hit my family in that they carried on to live and work in India, Madagascar, Venezueala, America, Barbados, Guernsey, and travelled extensively, as did my younger bro but i stayed on in UK and raised my children. may travel now as im older and child free YAYYYY

    Reply

  40. Diana
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 13:26:40

    Wow, lookie, a year and a half after your original post… and here I wander upon your blog.I live in Kansas, USA… all my life… have never lived anywhere else. Never really traveled either, except around my own state. Well, except for that one time to Pueblo Lake in Colorado to spend a couple days camping and saw the Rocky Mountains for the first {and probably only} time in my life, oh, about 16 years ago. I'm happy where we live. :)

    Reply

  41. Linda
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 23:39:20

    Hi! I`m living in Norway and will be probably for the rest of my life…But I love to travel, visited your country SA last year and want to go back NOW!! My best vacation ever.Your blog is great:)

    Reply

  42. Jackie
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 23:52:33

    Hello there . I am from Calgary Alberta Canada! Yes I am Canadian . I like this idea very much . Can I use it too? I used to feel lonely , up until I started following and leaving comments.

    Reply

  43. po
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 02:03:32

    Hey Jackie, feel free to use the idea, I hope it works out for you!

    Reply

  44. Hill Country Bug Lady
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:53:54

    Hello from Kerrville, Texas, USA. I am originally from Massachusetts but moved to Texas for the warmer weather. I enjoy your writing, keep it up. MP

    Reply

  45. Hill Country Bug Lady
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:56:59

    Hello from Kerrville, Texas. I am originally from Massachusetts but moved here for the warmer weather. Would love to visit SA. Did you like the movie "Invictus"?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

