Life, the universe and everything.

The following may or may not be in any way related to the  truth:



I was feeling lost and confused and struggling to see the point of it all. So I asked the internet:



Me: What is the meaning of life?

Internet: 42

Me: Shut up. Be serious. 

Internet: the meaning of life is that it ends.

Me: well that is cheering to know. So then what is the point of existence?

Internet: Why do you need a purpose to your existence? Are you not satisfied with what existence gives you? 

Me: No! And I am the one asking questions here. Is it possible to feel satisfied if you feel like your existence has no purpose?

Internet: Is it possible to be sure you exist if you cannot find your purpose?

Me: Fuck. Now you are screwing with me. Fine. Do I exist?

Internet: DNS server error.

Me: Internet, I hate you so very very much. I ask you again, do I exist?

Internet: If you think you do then you think you do.

Me: how very profound. 

Internet: However, we do not have you on any database. To us you do not exist.

Me: But I am asking you stuff right now! You are full of shit. You know what, I am going to kill you now, yes, you heard me. Die internet die!

Internet: We know you don’t have the willpower to switch us off, we know you are addicted.

Me: well, you just proved I exist after all. I have to exist to be addicted to you. Now piss off, I am going to play spider solitaire.


(with thanks to Yahoo answers).
17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ches
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 15:13:00

    Hey Hitcherhiker…Are you Zaphod Beeblebrocks?!

    Reply

  2. Tamara
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 16:15:00

    Classic, Po. You had me laughing out loud so that the office girls are questioning my sanity even more than usual. Lucky I didn’t pee on my chair!

    Reply

  3. po
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 18:02:00

    Hey ches, I don’t know! Am I? I could be. Not sure I could remember how to spell my own name.

    Reply

  4. po
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 18:03:00

    Tamara, thanks!I was really having one of those “what is the point?” moments, so I thought the only way to make myself feel better was to rip myself off.

    Reply

  5. 6000
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 18:44:00

    Actually, with the financial crisis adversely affecting markets across the world, the meaning of life is now only 29.

    Reply

  6. po
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 18:46:00

    Interesting, the age I will be next year. Do you think then it will all make sense? Hope so.

    Reply

  7. Lopz
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 21:19:00

    Nice one – who needs God when you have Yahoo answers!!!! :-P

    Reply

  8. po
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 21:25:00

    Lopz, yeah but Yahoo answers isn’t telling me stuff I want to hear!

    Reply

  9. Kitty Cat
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 13:10:00

    Hey Po, I thought this was a brilliant post! I feel that that too, have asked all the same questions and gone around those circles in my head!

    Reply

  10. po
    Sep 20, 2008 @ 21:54:00

    Thanks kitty, just remember, when in doubt, ask the internet!

    Reply

  11. Rox
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 11:59:00

    Haha, brilliant Po! I tried asking the internet that once, it pointed me to wikipedia which totally confused the issue even more, so gave up after that. The way I try and see it is that life is just one super realistic, intense game, with many many levels, life points, health points, obstacles, weapons, moves and a whole lot of other stuff, and you have to get to the next level without dying, and when you eventually get to a certain level, and you’ve lost x amount of points, it’s game over. Pretty simplistic I know, but I like it. I have to remind myself that it’s meant to be about playing the game rather than getting to the final level.

    Reply

  12. po
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 16:32:00

    Hi Rox, I like your analogy, I guess the point of life realy is to stay alive!

    Reply

  13. Tamara
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 13:47:00

    Hello again, Po. I tagged you to do the I love SA meme, but I now remember you’ve already done it. Damnit. Oh well… not sure what the point of this comment is now…

    Reply

  14. Being Brazen
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 15:47:00

    great original post…ha ha ha

    Reply

  15. po
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 18:16:00

    thanks being brazen!

    Reply

  16. sass
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 23:00:00

    hey po! i’ve actually been away from the internet for an entire weekend (imagine that! ;-^) ), so i’ve only just come across this. great post! very clever!

    Reply

  17. po
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 23:10:00

    Thanks sass, I feel like I need a weekend away from the internet, it is an evil beast that won’t let me get away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

