Sea.

Here is a poem. It is very short. It is not by me (I wish). I love it.


SEA

the sea is so heavy inside us
and i won’t sleep tonight.
i have buckets of memory in a jar
that i keep for days and nights like these.

Mxolisi Nyezwa

© 2000, Mxolisi Nyezwa
From: Song Trials
Publisher: University of Natal Press (Gecko Poetry), South Africa
ISBN: 0 86980 9768



How is that for South African talent? Nyezwa is from the Eastern Cape. He often writes about the sea. One day when I am an employed person I am going to buy his poetry collection, Song Trials.


P.S. I am trying to compile a booklist for next year, when I want to read everything I can get my hands on. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. I usually only read fiction but if there are any non-fiction books that you think I should read then please suggest them too.
12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ches
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 15:33:00

    'Shantaram' – Gregory David Roberts'A Short History of Nearly Everything' – Bill BrysonAnd if you looking for something about Africa…'Blood River' – Tim Butcher'The Trouble with Africa' – Vic GuhrsSorry Po, only read non-fiction & fantasy books, can't help in the fiction depo.

    Reply

  2. Tamara
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 16:47:00

    Beautiful poem!If you haven’t read it already, I recommend The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. The descriptions and writing style are so vivid and soul-touching.

    Reply

  3. The Blonde Blogshell
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 17:39:00

    Go get your award :-)

    Reply

  4. The Blonde Blogshell
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 17:58:00

    Go get your award

    Reply

  5. po
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 18:16:00

    ches: I keep hearing about SHantaram, will add it to the list.Tamara: Thanks for the suggestion, will check it out.

    Reply

  6. po
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 18:22:00

    Yay an award thanks so much!

    Reply

  7. sweets
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 19:49:00

    stunning poem!!!! absolutely love it. i’ve heard that “kite runner” (i think it is) is an amazing book, it’s on my list too :)

    Reply

  8. Kitty Cat
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 19:58:00

    A poem about the sea for a spindrifting sea monkey – what a perfect match! I loved “Eat Pray Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert. Don’t know if it’s your cuppa, but I enjoyed it.

    Reply

  9. po
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 20:02:00

    Sweets: glad you like the poem. I read the kite runner and yes, it is excellent! Kitty cat: I am up for reading anything and everything so will keep that one on my list.

    Reply

  10. Being Brazen
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 13:45:00

    great poem.I love poetry.Read Mark Haddons books – “The curious incident of the dog in the night” and ” a spot of bother” If you saw the movie “The Beach”, trust me when i say the book is 10 millions times better. read “The Beach” by Alex GarlandI have so many books to suggest – i’ll just suggest those 3 for now. :)

    Reply

  11. Miss T
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 14:56:00

    Oh no Ches I was going to recommend that one :(…hmm ok well the Bill Bryson travel books are good too.

    Reply

  12. po
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 16:45:00

    BB: Oih I agree about the Beach. I loved the book, and read it many times! It was brilliant, but what an ending! I have read the curious incident but will def. add the other one.Miss T: everyone reccommends Bill Bryson to me and I have never read him so I will

    Reply

Leave a Reply

