Dear Universe

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hester
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 19:47:40

    Roundabouts suck me in and I keep going round and round about until the gods are gracious enough to spit me out again. Good thing I sold my car this summer.

    Reply

  2. LadyFi
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 20:15:53

    Ha ha ha! Pizza for breakfast? Then things must be OK.. in spite of the pus…

    Reply

  3. quartercenturycrisis
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 01:54:49

    Ah I laughed so much at this post! I hope your eye gets better soon, doesn't sound like much fun at all!

    Reply

  4. po
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 03:42:49

    hester: that happens to me and the BFG too when we have no idea where we are going! Pretty useful but you get kind of dizzy.LAdyfi: pizza is the best kind of breakfast. And the weather has been awesome! Things are ok in spite of the pus.qcc: thanks, but according to the doc the infection is here to stay. I am keeping the eyewash industry in business :)

    Reply

  5. Champagne Heathen
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 12:46:43

    Not so sure about round abouts… Welkom has enough of them… but the rest of South Africa enjoys having traffic circles in all of suburbia. An South Africans' reactions to them… to just drive right over them!

    Reply

  6. 6000
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 14:18:50

    So, you take the P about us calling "traffic circles" "roundabouts", but you happily refer to traffic lights as "robots".Go figure.P.S. Don't ever think that learning to drive in the UK will (in any way) prepare you for driving in SA. Different rules apply. They drive on the other side of the road, for starters.

    Reply

  7. po
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 16:13:46

    Champagne heathen: haha tempting, sometimes they have these teeny tiny circles that I can't see and then I do!6000: er… um… you may have a point there. Ja I m aware that driving in SA is somewhat different, seeing as both sides of the road are considered fair game, as well as the pavement… going backwards is also fairly common!

    Reply

  8. sarah
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 08:52:01

    oh po! sounds like the universe is being a bit of a bitch. just bitch slap him back!ahahaha- the other day i got asked what a smash and grab was by one of my soccer kids – he was researching SA for the world cup. when i told him, his eyes got bigger and bigger and more and more shocked. i think i blew his mind

    Reply

  9. Paula
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 15:54:04

    wahahahahahahaha! I loved this post. I'm starting to learn to drive… I don't get fourway stop either. I mean either I go first or no one goes at all. LOL. I'm a diva on the road as well.

    Reply

  10. po
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 21:05:16

    Sarah: hehe the poor kid, must be nice to be so safe that a smash and grab could shock you!Paula: arrrgh do you enjoy your driving lessons? I hate them. You are so lucky there are not so many circles in sa though.

    Reply

  11. Paula
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 00:16:13

    I like that I'm learning fast… and get a kind of thrill when the driving instructor comes into the car with a scared look on his face. LOL. :P You? Besides the circles…?

    Reply

  12. po
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 00:53:39

    Paula I am HATING it. I have my lessons at 7pm after I stumble off the train from work. I am so tired and just want to chill but have to concentrate on driving. Bleeeegh! But everyone says after a while they love driving, so I am hoping that is going to kick in soon!

    Reply

  13. SA Expats
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 14:43:19

    Lol!

    Reply

  14. Tamara
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 15:07:53

    You do realise that when I read your bit about having a pus-filled eye, I read "pussy" with it's OTHER pronunciation? I was a bit confused for awhile.I hated driving while I was doing lessons (at least you don't have the K53 method there). It was only after I'd been driving on my own for a few months that I became comfortable and enjoyed it. Now I can hardly remember life pre-driving.

    Reply

  15. EEbEE
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 19:05:48

    I have the most awful image of you in my head. Also i just thought of a cool name for mucus and puss mixed together……wait for it…"Pewkuss" (although it would be better if you vomited on your face to add to the mix…)

    Reply

  16. po
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 21:07:44

    Tamara: sis! Me with a pussy face, ok that is beyond disturbing ahahahahahahaha ew. Makes South Park's Ass face people seem tame.What is the K53 method? It rings some kind of faint bell…EEbEE eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeuuuuuuuuuuuuw, what about mupuss? Yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

