Welcome

Welcome to my new blog! It is very much a blog in progress, and I am still trying to figure out how to make it look as corny and home made as my other one. I still have not figured out how to edit the banner colour, and how to get rid of this “continue reading” function. I don’t like that.


It may be hard to believe, but I spent hours and hours while I was unemployed turning this:



into this gorgeous piece of bloggy wonder:






I sat with Photoshop for days working out the perfect colour codes (yes I did think that orange was perfect) and hours more creating the ridiculous banner and sidebar pictures. I even looked up online tutorials on how to make buttons!

Then I who knows nothing about code had to figure out how to change each element of the blog, by changing one number or colour at a time and seeing what changed. It was a painstaking process.

So it may look like my old blog was put together by a 5 year old armed with crayons, but hactually it is a work of art.

So far it has taken me less time to figure out the ins and outs of WordPress, thanks to my previous messing around experience, but I don’t have as much time as I did then so my blog may appear a bit half baked for a while. Sorry.

If any genius people have tips or opinions on how to make my blog look better, please bring it on. But you may not be able to persuade me to change the colour scheme.

Thanks so much B and Eighty Six for my cool new blog!
22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 06:47:21

    ME FIRST!!!

    Yay! So excited for you :) Enjoy the process, it’ll be fun.

    Maybe you should give up the twitter ban for a bit to scream for help immediately when you need it?

    Reply

  2. Damaria Senne
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 08:40:37

    Congrats on your new blog Po. As you know my blogs are always a work I don’t in progress ( you’ve seen how often I change templates), I am looking forward to seeing how this one evolves. And I hope you enjoy the process as you design this new blog.

    Reply

  3. Helen
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 10:18:41

    yay! It’s so pretty! Congratulations! And good luck with the new layout and everything, I’m sure it’ll feel like home soon!

    Reply

  4. Helen
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 10:19:49

    and for the record, I am TOTALLY loving the purple alien that represents me :)

    Reply

  5. Briget
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 10:47:36

    Looking good ;-)

    You know I am here if you need help !!!

    :-D

    Reply

  6. Po
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 11:15:05

    Thanks everyone! I’m a bit confused cos I did some layout stuff on the weekend but then I think I borke it! Oops. Well, I will get there in the end :)

    Reply

  7. Shebee
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 14:58:16

    Loving the new blog, darling. I think your setting to change the preview posts falls under Settings, Reading.

    keep playing around, its how I learnt WP.

    Reply

  8. Paula
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 15:48:02

    the radness. new home most wonderful. so green but so proud all at once.
    Very cool.

    Reply

  9. Spear The Almighty
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 16:28:37

    You own domain! Now all you need is a Twitter account and a sex tape and you will be famous! Lol!

    Reply

  10. Po
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 16:30:37

    Shebee: thanks hey, ja will keep playing and causing disasters!

    Paula: hehe thanks!

    Spear: I’m so famous I can skip the sex tape and go straight to the perfume and handbag range :)

    Reply

  11. Shannon
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 16:58:51

    Color me super-impressed. I just let blogspot do whatever the hell it wants to my blog. Of course, if I remembered to update it more than every two months, maybe I would care more. :(

    Reply

  12. Lady Fi
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 17:04:20

    The comment box is TINY! Love the new look of your blog.

    Reply

  13. Po
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 21:34:00

    Shannon: thank you! Glad you came by my new blog.

    Ladyfi: I know! I need to change it but I don’t have time, probably til the weekend, to figure it out! Sorry for the odd blog features til then.

    Reply

  14. Cam
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 08:04:28

    NICE! I LIKE I LIKE!

    Good job Poski!

    Reply

  15. Cam
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 08:05:23

    DAMN! I have the ‘flying bat penis on a spring’ icon like on Sheena’s blog. Fck! :D

    Reply

  16. Po
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 08:49:11

    Aw Cam, well if it makes you feel any beter, I think your flying bat penis description is hilarious

    Reply

  17. Tamara
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 08:58:27

    Hello at your new spot. ’tis very kewl, IMO. Yay for Po!

    Reply

  18. Po
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 09:00:19

    Yay, hi Tamara, glad you didn’t get the flying bat penis too, you got the purple splatted grape. Um, it suits you :)

    Reply

  19. SheBee
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:41:08

    HAHAHAHAHHAA Chessie just can’t get away from the bat penis! Legend!

    Oh man, I’m in stitches here and snorting my face off. V attractive.

    Reply

  20. Po
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:46:31

    know it cracked me up too. Thanks for the editing tips by the way!

    Reply

  21. Champagne Heathen
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 00:00:09

    A big congrats on your own site!!! Brilliant!
    And you’re inspiring me to try fix mine. Maybe tone down my in-your-face-red!
    Good luck with getting all up to your liking!

    Reply

  22. DelBoy
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 05:06:22

    Another Blogger site bites the dust! Welcome to WordPress. It’s so much more fun with all the little tweaks and widgets.

    Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

