Rubbish.

My head is all over the place, I can’t concentrate, I have a bad case of hormones (I told BFG not to “push” me in case I killed him, but it turned out that him opening his mouth was “pushing” me. Poor boy), combined with a general weird vibe at work, a pending driving test, a pending deadline and probably other stuff as well which I have forgotten. I think I may be scheduled to bake a cake next week.

Also I keep trying to edit my blog layout instead of concentrating on the above. I already broke one layout which refused to be edited any more, so I had to install a new one. Oops. I hope I don’t break that too.

I am a crap blogger right now, but I’m sure soon I will bubble up like a boil with inspiration.

Til then:

I just realised that if I move back to South Africa next year I will be a year too late to see the Soccer World Cup and a year too early to see the Olympics in London. What bad timing. I love sport. I think seeing the Olympic gymnastics would be a dream come true. But knowing me I would stuff up getting tickets, so maybe it would be best if I wasn’t lurking around England feeling disappointed.

There is more to life than major once in a lifetime sporting extravaganzas, right?

RIGHT???

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 07:30:05

    Ouch, bad timing… Maybe organise a trip back to visit friends/family during the Olympics?

    Feel better soon!

    Reply

  2. Shannon
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 08:11:55

    They are WRETCHED when they are in your city. Traffic is a clusterf*ck, all sorts of tourists who don’t know where they’re going, everything takes seventeen times as long. When the Olympics were in Atlanta in 1996, everyone I knew who lived there either took vacation time or seethed while hating their lives.

    Much better to watch on TV where you can wear your jammies and beer is free cuz it’s in your refrigerator and not the exorbitant prices they charge at the concessions.

    Reply

  3. Po
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 10:40:16

    Helen: I thought of that, but I reckon I will have nooo money by then. Moving usually induces poverty!

    Shannon: you have a point. I can imagine London will be difficult and all, but since I don’t live there, I wouldn’t have to deal with it :)

    But TV it will have to be.

    Reply

  4. Tamara
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 11:13:33

    Maybe by the next Olympics / World Cup, you’ll be a world famous scientist flying around on plant nookie grants. Then you’ll be able to attend the event in style and be one of the annoying tourists instead of a seething resident ;-)

    Reply

  5. Po
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 11:39:40

    Hehe Tamara, I wish. However I missed the Scientist boat years ago- no PhD and anyway, I wouldn’t want to be a scientist. But a world famous writer… now there’s a thought. :) I could write about plant nookie? Do you think there’s a market?

    Reply

  6. Cam
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 11:42:57

    BFG, dude….don’t push her! ;)

    Reply

  7. Po
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:15:04

    Cam: um, he pushed me. He just said “um” and I bit chunks out of hime. Just keeding but it was close!

    Reply

  8. SheBee
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:39:00

    Dudey, whenever you’re going to edit code, save the original template in a new notepad doc as is. Then edit it in another doc to be safe, that way when you do screw up [and its inevitable if you’re anything like me] you can just load the original code and start again, instead of uploading themes over and over.

    Reply

  9. SheBee
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:39:28

    oooh, and search for comment subscription plug-in’s so we can get emailed of your comment replies?

    xox

    Reply

  10. Po
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:49:04

    Shebee: okey dokey. Um, one day I will do that. comment replies. Maybe I deleted it by mistake. Its likely.

    Also I did save the notepad file, but when I pasted it back in it wouldnt change or update. I think I broke it on a large and dramatic scale that only seamonkeys can achieve. I still have the original file but now I think I like this template better anyway, so I think I will step away for the editing for a bit. Just gotta find comment replies. And how the hell do you make a gravatar? I’m sure google will enlighten me.

    Reply

  11. Briget
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 14:00:44

    Ja, I put the plugin in for you.. you just need to activate it ;-)

    Reply

  12. Po
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 14:03:14

    Wow B you’r a star, thanks so much!

    Reply

  13. EEbEE
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 20:44:20

    I have 5 soccer world cup tickets! (points and laughs) although i hadn’t really thought about how i was going to jump between Jozi Bloem and Durbs in the space of a week… WHo CARES TICKETS! YAY!

    If it makes you feel any better I know that old people enjoy watching sports on TV more than live. Perhaps you will be olde enough to appreciate your couch by the start of the world cup/olympic games.

    Reply

  14. henno
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 05:58:22

    Haha, you’re just like me. I stuffed up buying tickets for Woza 2010. I bought tix for Italy vs Paraguay on the 14th of June, but then when I looked at my plane tickets I realised I’m only landing on the 16th! Doh

    Reply

  15. prixie
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 09:18:05

    Bck in SA? S-er-rrrrrr-i-o-u-s?

    Reply

  16. Po
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 11:24:00

    Henno: hnoooo you poor guy!

    Prixie: um, if all goes according to plan, yes. If I can find me some kind of a job!

    Reply

  17. Paula
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 11:38:52

    Okay well. I’m not so in to sport so I must must must tell you as someone who really is unattached to sport that it is really more to life than sports. But it’s still nice to be a part of something so if you could I would try and do both. I don’t know how that would work… or the budget involved. But you know what I mean… right?!

    So I wouldn’t delay everything but fit everything in?

    Reply

  18. Po
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 11:41:02

    EEbEE: um, are you saying I’m old???!!!! Sigh, you’re sadly right.

    Paula: haha I don’t really care, trust me, moving back home is more important than the Olympics, its just a bummer about the timing.

    Reply

  19. Lady Fi
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 13:32:48

    So right!

    Reply

  20. Rox
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:53:42

    Oooh, love the new blog. Go, Po Go! ;-)

    As for the timing thing, agreed what they all say. Ye it sucks, but it’s not all that much to miss. You can come back when things are still all a-glow after the world cup, and get all the benefits of improved infrastructure and shiz.

    Reply

  21. Tamara
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 07:47:40

    Let’s work it so that we both publish Pulitzer-winning books before the next major sporting event and then do a joint world tour including whichever country the sports are in, k? Then you and the boys can watch the gymnasts and I’ll go shopping ;-)

    Reply

  22. Po
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 08:50:42

    Tamara: sounds shweeet to me.

    Reply

  23. Angel
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 05:57:06

    I love Olympic gymnastics…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

