Blogging homework

I just found a blog of indescribable awesomeness. You have to go check out Hyperbole and a half, and read her post Cake vs. pie, and tell me which you would vote for. I vote cake, all the way. But that’s probably cos pie as a dessert is an American thing, when people say pie to me I think steak and kidney or spinach and feta, and those don’t come close to cake.

It’s cake day today at work. Sweeet.

Speaking of new blogs, I haven’t really been hunting new blogs down lately, I have been a pretty crap blogger. You know, no time and all that. But in terms of blogs I have started reading in the last year or so, if you don’t already read about Sarah’s life in Japan, she has moved to a new blog called Nomad’s land, and her blog is possibly the coolest blog in the world, so I’m not quite sure why you aren’t reading it yet?

More blogging homework: you should also read Bonding over lizards. Helen is a zoologist who seems to spend much of her time chasing lizards over rocks, and, as far as I remember, getting them to run on treadmills (?). You wonder how the words “mad” and “scientist” ever get linked… anyway she has this post about a lady with a leafblower which is just hysterical so you have to go read that too.

And finally, we have Paula over at Chocolate and Vanilla, who writes about anything and everything, and with so much energy. I think her post about persuading her mom to give her an old projector was like a short story. She reeeeeally wanted that projector.

Blogs aside, sort of, you have to go and buy this DVD called Unfinished Business, now!

I saw a link to it on 6000’s blog and it turns out I know the guys, both in the film itself, and the ones involved in filming it. The guys are legends in the South African climbing scene, and they are funny and insane and I have seen other films with them in before and they were fantastic. Lots of mad escapades climbing insane rocks and jumping off things.  Local is lekker, and they will post the DVD anywhere in the world. I just bought mine. Very excited.

Kbaai.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 08:51:15

    I’m still dying to try pumpkin pie or key lime pie. Maybe I’ll manage to convince one of my American World Cup visitors to bake me one ;-)

    Reply

  2. Paula
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 09:38:13

    Oh what a sweet suprise Po! Thank you SO SO much. Weirdly I would say pie wins only because it earns you more money in the game CafeWorld. (LOL)

    Reply

  3. Hardspear
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 11:17:03

    Hey there. Strangely, I happened on the Cake vs Pie post as well yesterday. It inspired me to start a ‘vital statistics’ feature on my blog, the first of which is included my latest post.

    Thanks for the other recommendations as well, I am certainly going to check them out as well.

    Reply

  4. Kirsty
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 18:10:53

    I LOVE finding blogs by other zoologists… hopefully I’ll have my own hands-on experiences to blog about soon! Thanks for the tips :)

    Reply

  5. Po
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 21:03:59

    Tamara: gosh I never heard of any of those pies before! Yum yum, you gotta tell me what they are like.

    Paula: m’kay. I have never heard of that game. But pie it is!

    Hardspear: it’s a pleasure. That blog cracks me up, I think I am her new biggest fan!

    Kirsty: I’m looking forward to it, I love reading outdoor adventures. I never really leave the lab, you can’t exactly chase Arabidopsis around!

    Reply

  6. Angel
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 11:38:46

    Oh lawdy how can you torture me so! You know I can’t resist a link!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

