Friday fripperies

The writing course that I was doing finished last week. And much as it ate into all my spare time, I’m sad. It was the most intense and intimidating course I have done so far, and it was my 5th. Our teachers behaved like an interview panel each week, interrogating our fragile ideas and demanding details I didn’t have. I felt like running out of the room many many times. But somehow I stuck it out, although my idea was by far the weakest and least developed. In fact I didn’t really have an idea at all.

And now I’m on my own again, and after all these courses you would think I could actually write something, innit? But what I have learned on these courses is that people like to read about conflict, about struggles. The reading market likes fallible characters who make loads of mistakes of judgement and do terrible things, as well as good. No human is perfect and the reader is supposed to be able to identify with a character.

So what the hell am I sposed to do? I am infallible. I’m always right. Where I go people follow. How can I write about flawed humanity when I cannot even begin to imagine what it is like to be flawed?

I am teh awesome.

Oh strewth, it’s really hard being this amazing.

Good thing I don’t have an ego problem or anything. Although then I could write about something.

Haha ok not. Really I think I’m crap all the time though, so it’s fun to pretend.

By the way, a blog I forgot to mention yesterday is Khayelitsha Struggles. I find the blog fascinating, although maybe that is not an appropriate word. Highly enlightening.  This blog documents real life, life as it is for most South Africans. And it brings these stories to people who don’t have a clue what life in a township is like.  Blogging connects the world. If anyone has nay cool blogs to recommend to me, please do.

If it weren’t for blogging, you wouldn’t have been exposed to me, and that is a tragedy I wouldn’t want to contemplate ;)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 09:09:14

    I do believe you adore your English course Po. But how fun that you enjoy them so much.
    .
    PS. You are the awesome

    Reply

  2. Angel
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 11:34:30

    Blogging has opened my eyes and many many doors!

    Reply

  3. Dora
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 15:58:21

    Dude, I have WAY too much conflict and struggle in my life right now that I can’t even be bothered to write about them. You can certainly have some of them and….just keep them will ya?

    Kidding aside, yes, that reminds me of a creative writing course I did last year, and yes, “conflict” is the IT thing in writing apparently…

    Reply

  4. Tamara
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 09:38:55

    “If it weren’t for blogging, you wouldn’t have been exposed to me, and that is a tragedy I wouldn’t want to contemplate ;)”

    I agree!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

