Pizza blues

I think I may have mentioned that I hope to move back to South Africa next year. Yes, yes, Po, you’re repeating yourself. Yes, I know, I tend to do that. You’re also holding a conversation with yourself on your blog. Oh yes. Yes I am.

Anyhoo, there is one main reason for this desire, and that is the amazing awesomeness of the pizza in South Africa. Really, if you live there, you probably don’t realise how lucky you are.

I always feel despair when I try to choose a pizza here, but this despair has been made worse by my recent trip Southwards. In South Africa I was choosing between biltong and feta and goat’s cheese and spinach and avocado and boerewors in the crust, and gold dust, and tiny garden gnomes even, probably.

Here the choice is: pepperoni, ham or minced beef. Chicken. Onions. Corn (never put corn on a pizza. A very important rule. Likewise for pineapple. Luckily the Hawaiian doesn’t seem to be popular here). Green pepper. Chilli.  Mushrooms. Olives.

That is it people. And there are never more than four of the above per pizza. I do not tell a lie. Having more than one vegetable substance per pizza appears to be a huge no no unless you are actually eating a vegetarian pizza. The best pizzas you can get here are actually the frozen ones from the supermarket.

The abominable line-up of pizza toppings is getting me down. Ok, the range of sweets and cookies here is phenomenal but they better come up with something out of this world, like a super-deluxe-toffee-mocha-tiramisu flavoured chocolate digestive biscuit to counter their pizza drought, or I shall just have to go.

I think peanut butter would be awesome on pizza. Has anyone tried it?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:05:45

    ever tried biltong, avocado and rocket on a pizza? SO good!

    Reply

  2. Po
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 13:47:15

    I may actually have. Maybe not the biltong with the other two. But something similar. All I can say: awesome.

    Reply

  3. Kirsty
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 16:05:40

    You know what I miss? Bunny chow. I cannot WAIT to go down to the waterfront at PE and have a HUGE balti bunny. Mmmmmm…

    Reply

  4. Angel
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 19:56:06

    Erm… haven’t tried peanut butter myself, but isn’t there a way you can make suggestions for topping combinations?

    Reply

  5. Po
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 22:02:08

    Kirsty: you know, even though I come from Durban, I think I may never have had a bunny chow. Is this possible? Wait, I remember I used to fill quarter loaves of bread with mincemeat myself, does that count?

    Angel: hmmm, nothing stopping me from just slathering it on myself :)

    Reply

  6. Champagne Heathen
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 23:28:49

    New York for pizza! Best ever! Mmmmmm.

    One slice of pepperoni. Next slice of nutella & stawberries. All crisp & fresh & just perfect sizes. Mmmmm….

    Salivating….

    Reply

  7. Tamara
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 09:45:20

    Romans Pizza Tangy Russian pizza with chutney and caramelised onion. Yum!

    Yes, the pizza alone would be reason enough to return to SA, Po, nevermind the awesome weather, kiff slang and people that talk to each other on the bus.

    Reply

  8. Cam
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 11:46:11

    Come.home.Po.

    Reply

  9. Lady Fi
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 12:02:06

    I love sweetcorn on pizza!

    If you don’t like British pizzas, then try the curry! Delicious!

    Reply

  10. Po
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 20:54:37

    Champs: um. Nutella and strawberries. I could do the nutella. Not a hige fan of fruit on pizza though. Not a fan of fruit in general.
    Tamara: never heard of a Russian pizza before, why is it Russian if it has chutney? Darn, I have to move back just to try this Russian pizza.

    Cam: phone. home. phone.home.<= insert scary alien impression with large bony finger here.

    LAdyfi: we eat curries all the time. They are yummy but I have never found a curry in the UK that is hot enough for me. I'm from Durban, the curry hotspot of South AFrica, where quite frankly the curries are so hot that you could light fires with my breath. We whities used to dare each other to eat our friend's curry samoosas and see if we would still be alive or not :)

    Reply

  11. sonnyvsdan
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 04:59:18

    you know in Italy I found it difficult to get more than 1 ingredient added to my pizza!

    Reply

  12. Tamara
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 08:54:10

    It has Russian sausages on it ;-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

