Changing time.

I got this email from my Dad on Saturday night:

Hi Po

Mum asked me not to mention the fact that clocks are advanced one hour at midnight, so I won’t.

Um.

If you know my Dad, this email is amusing, because he just can’t not tell me, in the rare chance that I somehow didn’t know that the clocks were changing and my entire world crashed down around my head. Even if my mom  banned him from treating me like an idiotic child.

What annoys me most of all is that I usually have no idea that the clocks are changing, and even though my Dad telling me drives me nuts, it’s actually quite useful.

Just please don’t tell him that.

Anyhow I knew this time. I did.

I did.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cam
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 08:31:34

    Geez, do we have the same father? :)

    Reply

  2. Tamara
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 11:23:04

    Gotta love family dynamics!

    Reply

  3. Helen
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 12:58:19

    sounds like my family! and I’d probably forget and be really late (or early?) for about a week without people like that.

    Doesn’t mean you can’t get cranky for being treated like a child though!

    Reply

  4. Paula
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 07:19:55

    LOL my dad hints almost like that when he wants tea “A cup of tea sounds nice.” and from that you’re supposed to just know that you are to make his tea. Weirdly though- he can tell the difference when it is mad with love or not. It’s in the taste apparently.

    Reply

  5. Po
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 20:58:37

    Cam: um. I dunno. Brother Cam????? ARRRGGHHHHH! hehe.
    Tamara: hmmmm, well yes it makes me laugh now, wheareas before I would be swearing. Maybe I’m growing up?
    Helen: the first year I was here we pitched up to work an hour early one time, but that is hardly dramatic.
    Paula: hehe I am gonna try that on the BFG and see if it works better than demanding that he makes me tea.

    Reply

  6. Po
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 23:04:28

    PS Paula I tried your trick on the BFG and it was amazing! I said “some coffee would be nice” just randomly, and he suddenly got up and made me coffee. It was freaky. I think I might be pushing my luck to try it again though.

    Reply

  7. Tamara
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:02:00

    Po and Paula: If you think that is sneaky… My boss once sent all us employees one of those annoying “fill in the answers and forward on” emails. The one question was “What are you thinking right now?” Her answer? “A cup of tea would be nice.” And, of course, she got her tea.

    Reply

  8. Po
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 13:25:11

    Tamara: that is totally awesome. Being a boss must be the radness.

    Reply

  9. Dora
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 00:57:38

    Ahahaha….I think what’s more amusing is that fact that your mom had to tell your dad not to mention it! Maybe if she didn’t tell your dad in the first place, then he wouldn’t have told you after all! Ah…don’t you just love the parents?! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

