What to do?

Two things:

Firstly, this year is a big one for me, and I’m not even a vuvuzela seller in South Africa. I am turning 30 years old this year (WAH!!) and also, BFG and I will have been together for 10 years.

I’m not usually one for making a big deal out of landmarky type things. I refuse to get married because the entire event would be torturous and umpleasant for me. I hate that shizz. I didn’t have a 21st birthday bash, and 21sts are the big thing in South Africa.  Actually the year I turned 21 was the worst year of my life. I was dealing with death and intense grief and my boyfriend leaving to go to Antartica, I wasn’t interested in speeches and buffets.

But this year is different, both of the upcoming landmarks seem big and special to me. Turning 30 is hectic. Even I can appreciate that. I would love to have a party and invite all the people who have been a part of my life over the years, who helped me to survive a whole 30 of them. But they are scattered all over the world. There is no chance of that happening.

I’m trying to come up with a way of showing my gratitude to my friends and family that doesn’t involve a party. Does anybody have any good ideas?

As to celebrating being with the BFG for 10 years, the poor guy, I think he just needs a huge drink. Or maybe a horse tranquiliser.

Secondly, could anyone recommend some new music to me? I have made a horrible habit of playing everything I have recently downloaded to death, and I am so so bored of the music I have. It doesn’t really matter about genre or taste at this stage, cos I will try anything once. Please. I’m desperate. Desperately seeking Susan.

Whoever the hell Susan is.

Ta.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 11:49:59

    I think sending postal packages is the thing to do to show appreciation. It may be hefty on the budget but it really is the most thoughtful in that you can get them “I was thinking about you” gifts… or gifts you made yourself.
    .
    For BFG and yourself: have an indoor picnic or something out of the ordinary. Or have a “BFG appreciation” day where you allow him or you both do things that he enjoys. Make coupons like “collect free hug” or “collect free make-your-coffee” that are only redeemable by him from you.
    .
    Music: Beirut (you knew that was coming), He&She, Clap Your Hand Say Yeah, Rodrigo Y Gabbriela. Those are the ones that I can think of top of mind at the moment. In terms of old school I would try Otis Redding. Classically I am in love with Dome Epias sung by pretty much anyone.

    Reply

  2. Shebee
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 13:19:00

    OOOh. Big milestones, hey?

    I suggest Muse. Muse is the bombnizzle!

    Reply

  3. Po
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 14:12:18

    Paula: wow, those are some awesome suggestions, thanks! I will go check out the music, I hav already explored Beirut’s catalogue on iTunes

    Shebee: good plan, I haven’t heard their new album recently

    Reply

  4. Shannon
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 19:07:25

    Why is 21 big in SA? In the US it’s big because that’s when people can drink legally, but absent that, what would make 21 interesting?

    Reply

  5. Paula
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 20:21:26

    @Shannon I know I’m not even giving Po time to answer. But the 21st thing dates back to biblical times. People only fully take responsibilities when they reach the age of 21/22 hence the tradition to hand over a key etc. You see the significance is because its also when you actually have to account for your actions good and bad.
    .
    I am a fountain of useless yet useful to know information.
    .
    @Po I came back to say “The Muse” and I was beaten to it. :P teehee. They are SO nice. Oh and Bob Marley seems to be timeless too.

    Reply

  6. Dora
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 20:39:20

    I probably shouldn’t say it, but I can’t help it…

    Your boyfriend left to go to ANTARTICA?!

    Oh, now that’s outta the way, here’s some music:

    (The video is nothing special, but just listen with your eyes closed….)

    Reply

  7. Po
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 21:20:57

    Shannon; haha what Paula said! I’m guessing it stems from some olden day times when turning 21 had legal signigicance, although as far as I know, in SA most of the major milestones are at 18. But 21sts are HUGE, some people hire venues like larny hotels with buffets and speeches and DJ’s jus like a wedding. It’s a bit overwhelming.

    Paula: for some reason I never listened to Muse’s new album so will go listen asap!

    Dora: he did! He went to work too, he was gone over winter, for 15 months in total. He worked at the South African base. I think it was an incredible time for him and he would probably go back in a second, but I think I would die if he left me so long again. You should see his photos, they are amazing!

    Thanks for the link!

    Reply

  8. Cam
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 09:40:59

    With you there with turning 30…me too, me too!

    Reply

  9. Helen
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 10:46:00

    30? wow…
    I gues maybe just take some time and send them all letters or something. Or do what I did for my 21st and have a picnic.

    Dora’s song is awesome but spoiled for me since it’s been an advert for DSTV for a gazillion-billion years!

    Reply

  10. Tamara
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 11:45:30

    Hmmm… This idea will onyl work if there’s not TOO many people (or you’ll be busy forever)… Send out an email to each person explaining that if they were near, they would be an honoured guest at your 30th party, but seeing they’re not, you’re going to do something that reminds you of good times with them to celebrate your 30th and then email them a photo. For example, my best friend and I used to drink Amarula and sing along to Michael Learns to Rock (embarrassing I know) when we were having a really rough time at varsity. It never failed to get us smiling. So I’d have TSC take a pic of me toasting her and my birthday with a shot of Amarula and email it to her with a link to a Michael Learns to Rock song.

    Dunno if that makes sense?

    As for music, anything but Michael Learns to Rock! Have you heard Die Heuwels Fantasties? I’ve only listened to a couple of their songs, but it’s pretty cool stuff (not the usual sokkie Afrikaans beats). Website: http://www.dieheuwels.co.za/

    Reply

  11. Po
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 19:18:05

    I’m really liking the postal idea. I did think of something like that. I don’t really have many or any photos cos I never owned one back in the days, but I can write about stuff we did.

    Reply

  12. Champagne Heathen
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 07:06:23

    Try Xavier Rudd. Australian guy. Chilled. Great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

