Little bunny Foo Foo

It’s my sister’s birthday today, happy birthday Bunny Foo Foo <= haha, embarrassing name in public!

My sister is my little sister, although in age only. She scrapes 6 foot where I think I squat somewhere at about 5.5. She also seems older than me, just because of the way she is.

I’ve always admired my sister, she seems unconquerable in the way she goes out into the world and never looks back, and does things I struggle with or don’t have the courage or self-belief to do. She learned to drive years ago, and here I am still battling away. She goes off travelling by herself and never seems to plan anything, she can just cope in any situation. And she can find her way too, but I inherited my Mom’s broken internal GPS.

She went off to China last year in a sudden burst. We all said “are you sure you aren’t rushing into it, don’t you think you should wait” etc, but in a few days she was gone.

Now she’s in China, having the time of her life, teaching 22 classes of 70 (!) kids each, travelling all over the country, managing to communicate and help people out of manholes and deal with a manic rabbit who chews every wire in her house on a daily basis, and been to hospital on a drip, and been to two Chinese weddings, and had her camera and wallet stolen, and had amazing people lend her money and help her out, and so many more things. More things happen to her in a week than happen to me in a year.

My sister is also loads of fun. She, the BFG and I like to think of ourselves as the three Musketeers, and we go on road trips together.  The BFG and I need her to balance us out, because we are like two old fuddy duddies, who take pleasure in walking and… not much else. We need the Foo around to remind us to have more icecreams, and chase dassies and penguins, and weasels, and squirrels, and any other moving creature that she could possible cuddle.

Also sometimes I think she is the only person on this earth who gets me. She gets my humour. I have an idiotic sense of humour that most people  think is silly, and when I am near her my silliness goes into full throttle because I know her brain, at least in some ways, is wired like mine. You don’t know what a relief it is when people find the same things funny as you, I feel like I may not be quite so insane. Unless it runs in the family…

Also she gets me in many other ways. In some ways we are so similar it’s freaky, and in some ways we are so different it’s freaky. But we can and have talked about the deepest and darkest and hardest things; and yes we judge each other and goad each other and get angry with each other, and yes I was an abusive older sister, but I did love my little sissie so much.  In fact I think growing up, she was my source of love because I sure as hell wasn’t relating to anyone else in the house very well.

She has been through some really really scary things, like you can’t even imagine, dark and scary, and she’s still here. I think she is one of my best friends, BFG being the other. I think that if I didn’t have her, the world would be full of darkness, a darkness I’m not sure I would ever come out of.

I wish with all my heart that this was enough, enough love for her to realise that she really doesn’t need anyone to prove her value, but I know it’s not. Family love is never enough.

Foo, I need you damnit. Seriously, keep that in mind. And veels geluk, bobbejaan klim die berg, and be careful of those manholes.

Hey, look, a dassie! Over there! In China! Behind you!

Made you look.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cam
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 09:39:36

    Happy Birthday Sister of Po Bunny Foo Foo!

    Reply

  2. Damaria Senne
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 11:42:39

    Happy birthday Bunny Foo Foo, sister of Po. You have both been blessed with each other.

    Reply

  3. Tamara
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 11:46:26

    Happy birthday, Po’s Foo.

    Great post, Po.

    Reply

  4. Paula
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 16:53:48

    Happy Birthday Foo Foo I hope its fantasties!

    Reply

  5. Po
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 19:16:33

    Thanks for all the birthday wishes, I will accept them in lieu of foo :) cool thing is wordpress is not banned in China like blogger, so she can read them too!

    Reply

  6. Shannon
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 23:05:03

    I feel just the same way about my little sis, Po, except some of the character traits are reversed (I am the adventurer, she is the pragmatist).

    There was a show on in the late 80s/early 90s in the US called “Designing Women” about 4 women in Atlanta; two of the characters were sisters–Julia, who was the older sister who always had a cause to be passionate about, and Suzanne, the former beauty queen and the funny one. My sis still sends me notes addressed to Julia and signed “Love, Suzanne.” When the actress who played Julia died last week, she left me a voicemail that said “I just want to point out that the intense, save-the-world one is the one who died young, and that frivolity and shallowness of thought are greatly underrated and may in fact contribute to longevity. Let this be a lesson to you.”

    So: little sisters are the best. I would be wrecked without mine. I understand totally.

    Reply

  7. Shannon
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 23:06:52

    Also it is important to note that my sister is the one who left me the message and not the dead actress. Oh, dangling modifier…

    Reply

  8. Po
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 23:13:58

    Shannon: I remember that show! Vaguely. It’s weird how sisters end up being yin and yang combinations. My gran always used to say “where did you find her?” about my sister, and I always suspected she was an alien :)

    Just kidding foo, if your’e reading this, you psychic spy from China. I know you can read my mind anyway.

    Reply

  9. Lady Fi
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 05:53:36

    Wow.. she sounds fabulous! Hope she comes back safely soon to see you.

    I survived three wild years in China teaching … she will too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

