Zak attack.

Zakumi has finally hit England! He is now gracing supermarkets everywhere. (P.S the above photo is in Cape Town.  The English versions are on keyrings.)

At first I was all enthused to buy one and be all patriotic, after all the words “South Africa” are emblazoned on his chest, but to be honest I’m not a big fan. I think he’s just a little bit ugly in general, but you should see the things they are selling in Tescos, poor Zakumi has a mutated head that looks like a pineapple. And he’s made in China anyway.

What I want is a vuvuzela. These are yet to hit the shelves of Tescos but I live in hope.

I know this post is hardly inspired, but I’m trying, I’m really trying to write something, anything. My life is so dull right now. Dried noodles are more exciting than my life.

Also, is it just me, or has the South African news front been a little quiet these last few days? No remixes, no studios being touched, no bloody agents with their tendencies, come on, I look to South Africa for my daily entertainment and there has been nothing for like, a whole week! If nothing else, South Africans have a wicked sense of humour.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cam
    May 18, 2010 @ 10:12:56

    I have a Zakumi hanging from my rear view mirror! :D

    You’re right Po, does look like a pineapple.

    Ps. Julius is in therapy, thats why no ‘good’ news.

    Reply

  2. Paula
    May 19, 2010 @ 08:01:55

    Someone keeps breaking the Zakumi at Eastgate and the other day a little boy was hugging him and he fall apart. lol. So better no Zakumi. Teehee

    Reply

  3. Damaria Senne
    May 19, 2010 @ 10:21:05

    I think a vuvuzela sounds so cool, when I hear the sound from a TV set broadcasting a soccer game. But I have no intention of hearing it up close and personal, by choice.

    I jjust took a poll on news24 actually, and I voted that it sounds like a flatulent elephant:-)

    Reply

  4. Damaria Senne
    May 19, 2010 @ 10:22:54

    I think a vuvuzela sounds so cool, when I hear the sound from a TV set broadcasting a soccer game. But I have no intention of hearing it up close and personal, by choice.

    I just took a poll on news24 actually, and I voted that it sounds like a flatulent elephant:-)

    So I vote for getting Zak, mutated head and all.

    Reply

  5. Helen
    May 19, 2010 @ 11:11:21

    send me your address and I’ll post you a vuvuzela! I might even include a bag of niknaks and a peppermint crisp…

    Reply

  6. Emm
    May 19, 2010 @ 11:44:06

    Oh, isn;t he the cutest thing! I’m pretty much sticking my head in the sand and pretending the world cup isn’t happening. I like South African rugby and cricket and English football but not really South African or international football.
    We spent an insane amount of money on South African goodies in the South African shop on the weekend.

    Reply

  7. Po
    May 19, 2010 @ 11:48:17

    Cam: ja hear about Julius, it’s time to set him free into the wild again!

    Paula: shame poor boy is probably traumatised for life after destorying Zakumi. Or just after hugging him, he is pretty scary looking.

    Damaria: haha maybe I have the privelage of living far away from vuvuzela noise, but I really want one. I figure on the day of the final I can blow it to celebrate whoever wins. I’m almost 100% certain there will be some people from the winning country living in my town, there alaways are, so I can celebrate with them :)

    Helen: seriaas?! But that would cost a fortune, a vuvuzela is a big thing! Maybe you could record me vuvuzela sounds instead? I could turn them into a ringtone :)

    Reply

  8. Po
    May 19, 2010 @ 12:28:56

    Emm: well at least we can pretend, and don’t live near a stadium with said vuvuzelas! Actually I sish I did, I think it would be a fun vibe.

    Reply

  9. Lady Fi
    May 20, 2010 @ 04:45:39

    He’s cute in a bubble-headed kind of way!

    Reply

  10. Spear The Almighty
    May 20, 2010 @ 10:13:17

    My dad brought me a Vuvuzela from SA. I’ll be taking it to the next Dubai 7’s just to annoy the Brits.

    Reply

  11. Helen
    May 20, 2010 @ 10:50:45

    they’re pretty light so it might not be too bad. Plus if I did it would be one less to annoy me while I’m trying to work…?

    Just let me know!

    Reply

  12. Po
    May 20, 2010 @ 13:26:54

    Ladyfi: I think he’s scary, in a pineapple kind of way :)

    Spear: aw coool!

    Helen: Well, I would love one! But I do feel worried about the postage. I would be more than happy to pay the postage to get my hands on the awesome noise making machine of joy! Maybe I could paypal you somehow?

    Reply

  13. Helen
    May 20, 2010 @ 16:11:24

    I’ll ask around and see what the charges look like, but seriously, they’re plastic, how much could it be? even if I stuff it with junk-food… hmmm, maths questions of the day: ‘calculate the volume of a vuvuzela’

    (answer being ‘it depends on the colour’)

    Reply

  14. Shannon
    May 21, 2010 @ 01:40:44

    The first time I heard the vuvuzelas I thought there was something wrong with my TV. I was like “why is it making that awful–maybe if I adjust–wait what the–goddammit, it’s on purpose.”

    That aside, I am super excited for WC! I started playing soccer when I was 5 (dad said there was no use wasting all that energy jumping off the countertops pretending to be Wonder Woman) and am still playing 25+ years later. Was at the match when the American women won the gold medal in the Olympics in ’96, the first year women’s soccer was an Olympic sport. (I support women’s soccer both out of a feminist obligation and because the American men’s team is meh but the women’s team dominates. Except now China and Brazil are challenging. Damn it.)

    So for the WC I will be rooting for the US and Bafana, cuz I loves me some underdogs.

    Reply

  15. sonnyvsdan
    May 24, 2010 @ 16:18:15

    well i like him. think he’s cool.

    but who said we needed mascots for these things anyway?

    Reply

  16. Ness at Drovers Run
    May 26, 2010 @ 08:43:12

    Yeah, you’ve about summed up the opinion on Zakumi as it is felt here in SA too. Not great. However, everyone is going batshitcrazy over the little wingmirror covers (lycra nogal) that show your allegiance to whatever country, and I must admit they’re pretty squee. Nice to see everything from Landcruisers to clapped out old jaloppy’s showing their colours. Some cars even sporting two different countries.

    Reply

  17. Ness at Drovers Run
    May 26, 2010 @ 08:45:36

    I forgot to add that SA news has been quiet, because Mr President had the amazing forsight to ask the country to (and I quote), “Please just be good, just for the next 6 weeks.” *!*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

