Believe.

For some reason I love this billboard. It says so much in so few words.

I love the juxtaposition of the religious symbolism, which also represents national patriotism, with both football and TV, England’s modern religions.

Although, I’m not entirely sure the advert makes sense. Are all 50 million of them going to be huddled around the same TV?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Damaria Senne
    May 27, 2010 @ 10:53:39

    My irrational mind wondered if the HD would be in the sky so all 50 million believers could see.

    Reply

  2. Spear The Almighty
    May 27, 2010 @ 10:59:19

    :) They are asking rediculous prices here to get the World Cup on TV. I’m not sure if I will pay it.

    Reply

  3. Tamara
    May 27, 2010 @ 12:14:08

    Haha… good point, Po ;-)

    Reply

  4. Cam
    May 27, 2010 @ 12:47:10

    And the SkyHD box is made, produced and developed in South Africa. Funny that :)

    Reply

  5. Briget
    May 27, 2010 @ 15:05:29

    Well, If we don’t watch the SWC then we watch nothing according to FIFA . The school has cancelled all sporting events during this period as apparently there is an EMBARGO placed on all extra-murals and other such activities till after the SWC ..

    FIFA SHMIFA — I am going to watch all 7 seasons of Two and a Half Men again till it all blows over ;-)

    Reply

  6. Po
    May 27, 2010 @ 21:43:11

    Damaria: surreal! A floating HD. IT would be cool to watch football games on the sky though.

    Spear: it seems the UK TV channels are broadcasting them for free on the internet so I am sorted. Well, so I’ve heard. I don’t have a TV so I won’t be watching otherwise.

    Tamara: why thank you.

    Cam: really? I didn’t know that? I wonder why they are made in SA and not China???

    Briget: seriaas? An embargo on extra mural activities? So the only sport allowed to occur is the WC, hey? Well, I heard most schools are closing altogether for that time. IT may be all rumour and speculation, but from what I’ve heard FIFA are a despotic tyranical bunch of dictators. Well that’s the impression the media gives but the media are usually a bit hysterical.

    Reply

  7. Paula
    May 31, 2010 @ 20:08:40

    Is that paper tearing on the side there? My teacher would minus 20% based on that alone.
    .
    I like the immediate sense of camaraderie a flag brings. It’s awesome.

    Reply

  8. Po
    May 31, 2010 @ 20:34:11

    Paula: I think it’s a flag flying in the sky so those corners are bits of sky, but I couldn’t vouch for that at all since the billboards are always half falling off.

    Reply

  9. Po
    May 31, 2010 @ 20:34:50

    Ah wait, I see the bit you mean at the bottom, yup you’re right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

