Laduuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuma!

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee it’s nearly here!

Let’s just say there’s one place I want to be right now and it aint here.

I know soccer fever has hit because:

  • people are actually interested in talking to me about South Africa beyond how many children Zuma has (which was the number one topic til now).
  • -my boss bought a 50 inch TV just for the occasion. Actually he bought four, but that is another story all together.
  • -There are English flags adorning every nook and cranny of the lower bit of this island, barring Wales of course. They are very excited to say the least. I want to hang my SA flag on my window but am a little nervous because we have a Mexican takeaway across the road from us, and if the have anything to do with the Portuguese gangstas next door – well I don’t wanna piss them off m’kay?
  • – I have seen pictures of flag socks, flag jocks, flag everythings all over South Africa too.
  • I bought me a flag T-shirt – was going to get a Bafana Bafana one but I think the thing that I love most is our beautiful flag.
  • – street kids have been removed from South Africa’s main cities and secreted in conveniently distant places. I may be excited about the World Cup but this is just  wrong and inexcusable. I have read people arguing that it’s excusable because it’s just normal procedure for this type of event. Excuse me? Just because everybody does it, does not make it right. Ever. I certainly don’t believe the World Cup is a bed of roses sowing blossoms of joy throughout the land. There is some  dodgy stuff going on as well.

Anyway, I’m super excited all the way over the sea.

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. prixie
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 08:04:11

    Po I’m giddy with excitement! The atmosphere is so bloody great! AND I decked the Silver Sunflower (my car) with a flag too!

    This time really reminds me of the things I love about SA!

    Reply

  2. Champagne Heathen
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 09:11:56

    Hang the flag out! Hang the flag out! DOIT.DOIT.DOIT!

    Reply

  3. tiah
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 09:32:25

    I can’t wear yellow, so no Bafana top here. But it is fun!. The street kid issue, however, is disgusting.

    Reply

  4. Cam
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 09:34:16

    The street kids were put in proper homes where they can stay indefinitely, have meals and work stuff, get educated…it’s their choice to return to the streets to snort glue but during the event, they will be placed back in the homes.

    You can’t help the helpless Po, you can only try.

    Reply

  5. Kirsty
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 09:45:07

    I’m so excited and I just wish I could be there too! Two days! I’ve got Friday night off specially so I can watch the opening ceremony…

    Reply

  6. Po
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 10:09:50

    Prixie: cool! Could we see a pic?

    Champs: oookaaaay. I will! Angry Mexicans don’t scare me! hehe nervous laughter.

    Tiah: hha why can’t you wear yellow? It is rather bright but I bet the players appreciate the support.

    Kirsty: I’m at work, blegh but I think i can watch it during my lunch break on the computer. That’s my plan!

    Reply

  7. Po
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 10:14:00

    CAm: actually I wasn’t thinking of their treatment. They may or may not be treated like kings during the world cup, the fact is they should have a choice. Sadly many of them would prefer to be on the street and that is theire choice and in South Africa there is freedom of movement, so they have as much right at least in the day time to be in public spaces as everyone else. It’s not right to treat some citizens like they are cattle. You can beautify a city but unfortunately it is not right to treat people like litter. Yes they are a pain in the butt but until they actually commit crimes, that is how human rights work.

    But my criticism is not of South Africa, but of the world, because we always do this during major events. I’m sure they will do it to London too for the Olympics. What is wrong with us??? Why do we need to hide from it? It’s life and life is hard and in your face and we all know it or we all should know it. They have a right to be there too, glue and all.

    Reply

  8. prixie
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 10:18:59

    Ha! Good point! I have NEVER taken pics of the car! If I do, will blog it.

    Reply

  9. The Spear
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 10:36:13

    Oh yes, I have daily conversations about South Africa.

    Reply

  10. Shannon
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 13:40:18

    I am ridiculously excited. Also, you should check out the blog stuffwhitepeoplelike.com because they have a hilarious post on the World Cup (it only applies to Americans since we are not a soccer nation, but it is funny. And does not apply to me since I actually play soccer and like it year-round.)

    The opening match is 8 or 9 am in Houston (we are 7 hours behind SA) and it is being shown on a huge screen in a local park. Houston has loads of Mexico fans, considering our demographics, so I may be one of the few, the proud, the hardy rooting for Bafana. Or I may be watching it in bed with coffee because 8 am is early, man, if you don’t have to be somewhere.

    And Saturday is US v England!

    I have not noticed an increase in American flags because, um, Americans fly the flag all the time anyway.

    Reply

  11. Damaria Senne
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 17:31:34

    I live near a fan park, so it feels like non-stop partying, what with the vuvuzelas, the people hooting their cars, the flags, and the non-stop sound checks either by the organisers ( for the sounds system) or the African bands, which will play in between the games…
    I started out as the grouch who worried about the endless music which is probably going to keep me awake for a month. But I’m closer to just sucking it up and getting into the spirit of the party.

    Reply

  12. Cam
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 08:42:17

    Sorry Po…They’re getting better treatment now than before so I don’t get it!

    They are littering our streets! So get them off the streets – help them – and they can watch Bafana on TV while being looked after and educated!

    I don’t want them on the streets! I’d rather they have a better life and that’s wants this world cups brought them…they need homes, they’re homeless, and now they’ve got it.

    Sweet. Happy.

    Reply

  13. tiah
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 15:51:36

    Po – I can’t wear yellow because I look green in it. That and orange are two colours that if I wear people start offering to take me to an emergency room.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

