My turn…

in our lab baking club today:

The Netherlands, England and South Africa, and Japan are the four countries in the World Cup who are represented by my lab members. The others – Pakistan and China – didn’t make it. Toughies!

However I forgot completely about Japan in my icing endeavours. Oops! Sorry Japanese lab member.

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kirsty
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 09:34:16

    Alas no Scottish representation at the Cup this time round (EVERY TIME ROUND) – blue would have looked lovely! I’m so excited! (And isn’t the SA flag a pain when it comes to decorating? Painting my face has always been very expensive. Too many colours!!)

    Reply

  2. Damaria Senne
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 10:46:41

    Nice. looks like you guys have really got into the spirit of the party.

    Reply

  3. Fu Yang
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 12:46:49

    oh wow! homeslice! you did good.But you could have done China just cos.

    Reply

  4. Po
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 13:22:21

    Kirsty: yeah man it was crazy, I have 6 bowls with different colours of icing all over my kitchen. Anyone for some black cookies?

    Damaria: South Africa definitely tsted the best :)

    Fu yang: yawell china didn’t qualify gnomeslice and anyway I think drawing stars with icing is a bit beyond me.

    P.S. I need to ask your advice about how to park, my test is next week eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!

    Reply

  5. Shannon
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 15:00:04

    That SA flag is impressive! I can never get the dye dark enough in icing, it all comes out pastel like Easter eggs. Eventually I give up and eat the icing alone. Not so much a baker, me.

    Reply

  6. Paula
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 16:02:58

    do you perhaps know why the red is on top and blue on the bottom. Someone once said it was blue sea, grean earth and red sky but that didn’t make sense to me.
    .
    Those cookies look yummy though :D
    .
    How did you get the lines right?

    Reply

  7. Fu Yang
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 17:32:22

    i want cookies.but im eating litchis.ok step 1.find monkey. step 2.put monkey in car.step 3.sit at home and make fu yang cookies.step 4.await monkeys return. step 5. celebrate with monkey as it has managed to pass your test where you would have failed.mwhahahaha jy’s ‘n yuppie ek’s a bergie. jy eet steers ek eet mcdonalds!

    Reply

  8. Po
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 21:50:41

    Shannon: aw thanks! But mine are pastel too, no worries, my red is more like pink!

    I don’t mind baking but I never do it because I tend to eat everything in one go like an eating freak. Baking is dangerous.

    Paula: well according to Wikipaedia, the designers wanted to avoid attaching specific meanings to the colours, they wanted to allow for personal interpretation, so if you want it to be a red sky, then that’s what it is!

    Reply

  9. Po
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 21:52:01

    Fu yang: noooooooooooo Foo yangbie! Seriously how does the monkey relate to the parking of the car, what does it have to line up with? And did you seriously do your test with a toy monkey in the car?

    Ek’s ‘n nana, jy’s ‘n banana.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

