Not enough squids in the sea.

I did my first driving test on Thursday and sadly it is not to be my last.

It went so well! I’m still kind of proud even though I failed. It was a good fail.

I didn’t sleep a wink the night before. It wasn’t that all-consuming racing head kind of nervousness but more like a background dread. But I drank half a bottle of rescue remedy (I know they recommend four drops but this called for an emergency dose) and kept drinking the stuff right until the man in the yellow vest called my name. And I was so calm. I totally cruised through the test without panicking or freezing or getting hysterical. I only got 6 minor faults. That is apparently very low.

However I did two majorly doofus things and so I failed. Bugger. The problem is, no matter how many lessons I have and how good my driving is (and I think my actual driving is about as good as it can get right now) I am a doofus and so I will always do doofussy things. I could fail a million times by just being the blonde that I am even though I am not.

If that makes any sense.

Anyway, I was so relieved at how well it went, I was in an amazing mood afterwards. I had expected to have to come home and curl up in the foetal position, crying, shaking, or be a splat on the road, or something dramatic. But it was fine.

Except now I am practically bankrupt after spending a huge whack of squids on lessons and now another test.

A few people I know had to do their test 8 times. Please no, I can’t afford that. There are not enough squids in this seamonkey’s sea.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 08:29:08

    It will not take you 8 times.

    I didn’t tell you this before your test, but most people I know in the Uk take it twice. It is like they look and see you haven’t done it before and…they’ll be hard on you. The second time around they note that you’ve been there before and ease up. And the fact that you’ve finally got a test under your belt makes it mentally easier – you have an inkling of how it works.

    Should have moved to America – they’re driving tests are a cinch :-)

    Reply

  2. Helen
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 09:51:45

    I failed my first drivers test too, most people I know did…

    And at least now you know you can be all calm when you need to be, and next time it’ll be so much easier!

    Reply

  3. Briget
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 10:57:49

    Most people don’t pass their test first time.. but on the second try.. a bit like “been there – done that – wont drive over the neighbours cat again” thing ;-)

    Dont stress.. next time you will sail through it like its nothing ;-)

    Reply

  4. Damaria Senne
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 11:37:06

    Congrats on doing well, even if you failed. I’m sure it’s a confidence boost;now all we need to do is pray that there are no major doofoosey things happening at the next test, and then voila, you’re licensed to drive. And to terrorise other motorists with more doofoosey things:-). Except, I think we’re all like that, so it won’t matter.

    Reply

  5. Champagne Heathen
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 14:40:38

    I am impressed you were so happy afterwards! Good for you!
    I reckon my (1st) driving test was the most stressful test I have yet done!
    Good luck for the next one!!

    Reply

  6. Shannon
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 23:15:44

    In Texas, there is no driving test anymore. You take a written test of 20 multiple-choice questions that a sixth-grader could pass, show proof that you took a driving class, and poof!–instant license.

    I loved this system when I was 16 and getting my license and now I think it’s the stupidest thing in the world. A bunch of crazies on the road.

    Reply

  7. Po
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 23:19:31

    Shannon: nooooooooooooooooo waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!! For real? What the hell am I going through all this crap for, I’m moving to Texas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

