Some words when spoken

can’t be taken back.

Firstly my computer is foobahed. It takes over an hour for me to be able to open a page on the internet. So I haven’t been commenting as much on blogs. I have been reading but usually the computer crashes when I click on the comment button. My blood pressure is through the roof right now.

Secondly I am going to see Pearl Jam today! Now I can die happy.

I had this list of bands who I thought were legendary and whose music I loved for more than a few weeks, months, even years.

R.E.M. was the major band on that list. I love them so much, I’m a little bit freaky when it comes to R.E.M. I am in love with Michael Stipe. Yes he is skinny, old, and bald and also currently gay (although apparently he is equal opportunities so there is hope) but he definitely blows my vuvuzela.

When I lived in South Africa I assumed I would die without seeing them live. How ironic cos I moved to the UK and soon after they visited South Africa. I may have just accidentally been in Durban at the time and gone to see them. Maybe. I’m not obsessive or anything.

What?

That was when I though seeing them was a once in a lifetime thing. Turns out they visit the UK practically every few months so now I have seen them four times, and each time they have blown my mind with their awesomeness. They may not have made any good new music for years but their old stuff is so awesome live. I will never grow tired of hearing Losing my Religion live. Never. <=== ok enough with the freaky loser groupie stuff now.

The other bands were Pearl Jam, Live, and The Goo Goo Dolls. Oh and Bon Jovi but I got so bored at their live gig that I hated them afterwards. The Killers were not on my list, they were on the “would be cool to see but I will live without them” list. But they should have taken Bon Jovi’s place cos they were awesome.

How many times can I insert the word awesome into a post?

No one I have met in the UK has even heard of Live, they had a whole other musical upbringing over here, but they were my favourite band for ages in the 90’s and they were great live too. They were such a good band until they got happy. Their depressing music was fantastic. Throwing Copper was like listening to an American gothic fable.

Then the Goo Goo Dolls – they are an odd band. Some of their stuff is utter crap but the good stuff is so good that it erases the bad stuff in my mind. My sister was the stalker in this case, and I ended up seeing them three times. John Rzeznik is so hot and he read my sister’s sign out to everyone. It said “something something something play “Name””. So he did. Awesome.

I thought I would die without seeing Pearl Jam. They don’t seem to tour much. Eddie Vedder’s voice is the most beautiful thing I have ever heard. They have written some of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. Vitalogy is the weirdest and most disturbing and most fascinating album I have ever heard. If they don’t play Nothingman or Better man I will cry.

I’m sure it is going to be awesome.

Are there any bands out that make you behave like a freak, a loser, a stalker? If you say Justin Bieber I may have to set Damaria on you.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 08:05:27

    There is nothing wrong with Live. I wrote finals while listening to Live. Enjoy the concert!

    Reply

  2. Damaria Senne
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 14:26:33

    That’s right!Choosing JB is a crime that’s punishable by torture:-)
    as for me, I never found one particular band that I wanted to stalk. Enjoy the concert.

    Reply

  3. Shannon
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 17:45:32

    I will confess to a huge Diana Ross fixation when I was a kid. I wanted to be her for Halloween one year and my mom had to explain to me that it is no longer socially acceptable to wear blackface.

    I did get to see her in concert about 15 years ago though and it was super fun. Mostly because it was me and a bunch of gay men and middle-aged women.

    Reply

  4. Fu Yang
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 13:28:49

    I’ll have you know the sign said, ‘Please may I have one of your guitars. You have lots. P.S: play name’ I’m still waiting for the guitar

    Reply

  5. Po
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 13:36:07

    Tiah: It was great seeing Live live haw haw lame ;)
    Damaria: ha you are probably more mentally balanced than me.
    Shannon: well I had a Julia Roberts fixation, I know she’s not a singer, but still. WEIRD.
    FuYang: aha that’s what it said. I couldn’t remember the exact wording. He kept the sign, didn’t he? And didn’t even give a guitar in return!

    Reply

  6. Tamara
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 21:08:12

    I loved seeing Live live. And was always bummed that I missed the GooGoo Dolls tour to SA coz I was in Oz. I also wanted to see Counting Crows live, which I’ve done, and U2 and Red Hot Chili Peppers, which I still have to do.

    I had to Google Justin Bieber. I live under a rock.

    Reply

  7. Po
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 21:48:45

    Tamara: Counting Crows! I forgot about them, they were on my list for the longest time. I remember they were in Cape Town and no one would go with me. Now I am not as keen as before but would definitely go.

    I saw the RHCP, and they were so good, but I saw them in the most hectic crowd in the world in Coventry, which is a mega rough town. People were throwing water filled bottles at each other and other stuff. At least in Pearl Jam I could escape to a quiet spot, in RHCP there was no quiet spot. I had a woman leaning on me to gyrate her butt on me for the entire show. Niiiiiiiiiice.

    As for Justin Bieber, I had to google him too after my 12 year old niece mentioned him on Facebook. Erk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

