¿Qué pasa?

Four things:

  • My boss got me special permission to not wear my safety glasses on my computer. He is my hero! It wasn’t easy. We had to have a full on assessment considering the likelihood of my colleague shooting projectile sodium hydroxide in my face from across the room, over multiple barriers. They eventually deemed it safe. I may not go blind from squinting after all. Still have to wear them when I wash my hands.
  • Last weekend the BFG and I went to watch a  World Cup event… no not that type… the Bouldering World Cup at Sheffield. It was incredible. It’s always a privelege to see the world’s best athletes in action. It blew my mind. The men’s winner who is pretty much the best climber around, stood right in front of me. He was very tall so I couldn’t see but I think his bag may have bashed me a few times, so it was worth it :)  The women’s winner stood right in front of me too. These people have the puniest calves you will ever see. Freaky. I really like that climbing is still a humble sport where the athletes will go stand in the crowd to watch their friends. No bodyguards or separate areas.
  • On Saturday the BFG and I celebrate 10 years together! I don’t know what possessed him to pick a strange, quiet 19 year old over anyone else during that climbing trip back in 2000, but I am so glad he did. Only one person in the world can be lucky enough to be with him, and that’s me!
  • I am supporting Spain on Sunday. I don’t have an ancestry reason, actually I have some Dutch ancestry if we go back to the 1800’s. I just love Latin people. They are so unlike me. Erm, not the most rational of reasons but whatever. At least I picked a team! Gotta blow my vuvuzela for someone.

Venga España!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sonnyvsdan
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 13:39:53

    good on you for coming up with some kind of strategy for following the football. I personally love playing it. But I find watching it way too frustrating, particularly when it involved getting up at ridiculous hours to watch a game when you can catch the highlights in the news and just pretend you watched it. Call it poor form if you like but I have watchedtoo many ‘professionals’ taking dives during a beautiful game to enjoy it properly.

    Reply

  2. Po
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 13:43:17

    sonnyvsdan: well, to be honest… there are times when I only watch a few minutes of a game or follow the live score updates only, I am at work sometimes after all. But the final I plan to watch somewhere where I can see the whole game!

    Reply

  3. Louisa
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 17:10:06

    Hey! Congrats on your 10 year anniversary. That is a long-long time. *bows* Can I have your autograph, mmm? I don’t think I know any other couples that have made it that long with the exception of my parents (which are now going for year 34).

    Reply

  4. Po
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 22:02:35

    Aw thanks so much Louisa. The thing is, he makes it so easy. I’m not the easiest person to be around, but he really is :)

    Reply

  5. Tara
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 07:56:24

    10 Years? *faint* Happy happy for you two :)

    I shall be cheering against you during the final. Mainly because Spain knocked Germany out and that made me very unhappy. Also, I have a Dutch scarf. I can’t let it go to waste. Oh yeah, and once my moms bag got stolen in Spain. Ha!

    Reply

  6. Po
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 10:13:27

    Tara: ha well, I know some Spanish people… ok wait most of them are Basque and want anyone but Spain to win… actually most people I know well in my lab are Dutch rather than Spanish so I should probably support them. But the Spanish players are hotter.

    Reply

  7. Helen
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 11:36:51

    i’m cheering for the Netherlands becasue their traiing camp is here and so we lose all our parking to the team… for some reason a month of annoyance makes us supporters in some way :)

    Well done on the safety glasses! And the anniversary!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

