Hamba kahle Phillip

I saw this on A million miles from normal, who credits it on her blog.

He left two days ago and I already miss him.

I miss being able to talk about him all the time with my colleagues at work. I miss making predictions with them and seeing who trusted the octopus (me) and who didn’t. I miss talking about football all the time. Haha I’m sure some of them are RELIEVED that Phillip has  gone so I will stop giving everyone running score commentary all the time.

I will miss seeing all the sexy players and all the tense games. I realised again how much I love watching sport. What a jock I am. As I don’t have a TV I only watch the really big stuff on the internet. And it’s so much fun. It reminds me of the olden times when I was bored out of my skull lurking around the house and all that I could do was stare at the TV with my dad at whatever the hell sport he had on.

I miss having my home country beamed into my flat all the time, with video and footage and articles covering every inch of the country. I mis the insane vibe that emanated all across the world. I miss seeing thousands of ecstatic people just having fun.

Bye bye Phillip, I loved having you around. I love how you got your name. Only in South Africa, seriously.

P.S. am doing my work presentation thingy and am also pretty fucked up about life at the moment so will be in hibernation this week.

It all comes down to hamsters in the end.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 09:14:19

    I feel for you. I think it is also harder because you and your man are more outdoors types. I found that the ex-pats that took to the UK better, were the people who liked their TV, their shops, and all glamour. The people who liked to hike, to climb, to be free, felt hemmed in. The Brits do lovely walking trails, but it isn’t the same.

    Reply

  2. Kirsty
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 10:21:26

    I don’t know what to do with myself now that the footie is over… oh yeah! GO TO AFRICA!

    Reply

  3. Damaria Senne
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 10:27:32

    Feels weird, with soccer tournament all done and everything getting quiet. Except the roads – they’re quite busy now that the kids are going back to school.

    Reply

  4. Tamara
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 15:06:10

    Philip! That’s AWESOME. I too will miss Philip. Along with Paul the Octopus.

    Hope life improves soon, Po.

    Reply

  5. Po
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 16:47:37

    Tiah: haha well I don’t really miss South Africa more than usual – I always miss it. We do try to go outdoors climbing here every weekend, well my boyfriend does. He is so good about that. He is happy anywhere so long as he can climb. But what I really will miss about Phillip is watching sport I think. I loved watching sport in the old days. But I just can’t have a tv, I would never do anything.

    I had so much fun talking about sport and watching it this month. Loved it!

    Kirsty: hate you. And I mean that in the nicest way. AWESOMENESS!!!! Seriously, what do I have to do to be your assistant???? I think I would do about anything to work with meerkats, they are the cutest things I have ever seen. I will wash your dishes?!

    Damaria: I’m thinking your eardrums must be sighing secretly in relief ;)

    Tamara: I saw an announcement on Facebook that Paul is retiring. A well deserved rest I feel. Also he is probably destroyin the betting industry!

    Reply

  6. prixie
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 08:48:13

    Well the blues are very blue in SA. We miss it too! Maybe this can cheer ya up a trifle: http://bit.ly/aRiRlc

    Reply

  7. Helen
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 12:22:42

    I miss Phillip too…

    Reply

  8. Tara
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 21:36:11

    OMG Po Po! Thank you! Yes I’m a million miles out of touch so I’ve been wondering wtf this Phillip thing is everyone has been going on about. I even asked at work today but the boys were just as clueless.

    Reply

  9. Spear The Almighty
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 13:22:42

    Finally caught up with the strange and wonderful world of the Sea Monkey. :)

    Reply

  10. a million miles from normal
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 14:58:22

    hi po,
    thanks for the linklove and credit, much appreciated. i miss it too. sniff, sniff.
    although we went for that fillet last week and damn it was good!

    Reply

  11. EEbEE
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 15:09:32

    I haven’t heard a single vuvuzela since the tournament ended.

    Proof that tourists were responsible for the entire dinn.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

