Naughty scientists

Woah man, I am so out of it.

So to recap, I destroyed our home laptop by unplugging it while the BFG was at a crucial stage of reformatting. What a fail. So I’m typing this on our teeny tiny EEE computer.

Something has happened to me at work! I have been unleashed! For the last year and a half I have been behaving like a shell shocked turtle. Dead quiet, dead serious, timid. Working amongst top scientists when you are not one yourself can do that to you. I was afraid to say anything idiotic so I didn’t say much. Also everyone seemed very serious.

The thing is, it wasn’t me. Well, it was me, the shy, serious side of me, but in real life I am full of shit. I can’t take anything too seriously. When I get to know people well I am a terrible tease and I love talking utter crap. And laughing. Laughing at everyone and everything. And all of a sudden my brain has decided it is now ok for me to unleash this side of me at work.

The problem is control; I have none. It would be fine if I was mischievous now and then, but for me it is all or nothing. Now I just can’t be serious, can’t shut up. I seem to have no control over my tongue, I could say absolutely anything, including many things I might regret later.

Good grief. I need to retain some professionalism here!

At my previous job I didn’t need to maintain this professional-fun balance. Our boss was clinically insane. Everyone in the lab did whatever they wanted to lighten the mood and we were all full of shit all the time. My colleagues used to tape my pippettes under my desk or chair, my tubes all over the computer, and one of them put glycerol in my gloves. At least I hope it was glycerol. Eeeeuw.

tubes taped to the computer.

I can’t go that far now, I can guage the mood in this lab and it would be too much. But OMG my naughty instincts have come out from a looooong and shy hibernation.

I think it’s a good thing I spend a lot of time alone in the lab or who knows what could happen. My vuvuzela has already had a lab visit, with harmonious consequences.

Am going now. To behave. And be serious.

At my last job one of my friends used to defrost her frozen samples in my ear. Seriously. I have really warm ears. Just saying.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:00:55

    I’ve done that at work, too. Not sure how to act, so act dead serious. Which actually hurts my productivity. In the meantime, I’m rather glad I don’t work in a lab – ick. :-)

    Reply

  2. Paula
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 10:47:39

    Perhaps it is a sign to let the wild Po out? Like if you could why don’t you just do something to someone else’s desk without them knowing and hopefully they laugh it off?
    .
    Little mischevous I think is better than none at all. :P
    .
    Good luck.

    Reply

  3. prixie
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 17:51:55

    Hahahaaaa Give more anecdotes! I loved the warm ear bit! :) And go on, unleash you true self. :)

    Reply

  4. Tara
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 08:29:52

    Be naughty, give in to it ;)

    Reply

  5. Po
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 10:25:42

    Tiah: ja, I’m starting to be out of love with working in the lab, it’s the glasses, I hate them.
    .
    Paula: maybe I should do a handstand in the lab? Have been wanting to for a loooong time.
    .
    Prixie: ha I have so many anecdotes of naughtiness from my last job but so far here I have been a pillar of well behavedness. Maybe I should rake my memory for the daft things we did in my other lab.
    .
    Tara: I am. Oh dear. I really am.
    .

    Reply

  6. sonnyvsdan
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 12:45:04

    I’m the same in my new work. I think a few people know I am a little crazy – but theyhaven’t even seent he half of it.

    Was really disappointed the other day when one of the senior guys told me off for using Jessica Rabbit as my dummy patient. Because it was unprofessional or something. Very disappointed. It’s a name on a screen dude..

    Reply

  7. Helen
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 10:09:16

    hahahaha! Unleash it! I used to use the different coloured eppie-tubes to decorate the potplants around christmas time. Good thinking on the ear thing, I may try it :)

    And more anecdotes please?

    Reply

  8. Tamara
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 13:18:14

    Handstand, handstand, handstand!!!

    Also, try putting a piece of sticky tape on the optical sensor underneath someone’s computer mouse. Takes people a while to figure out why the mouse won’t work. Fun to watch. Sorry… I’m not helping, am I?

    @SvD: That’s classic, dude! Pity the guy has no sense of humour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

