I have been Twilit.

Somebody’s been playing with mommy’s make up box again, hasn’t he?

Right, I read 3/4 of a Twilight book- the first one- (it was my sister’s. I just thought I should clarify that) and watched 10 minutes of the third movie. Also I read the wikipaedia summary. Do I get some kind of badge that says I belong to society like a normal person now?

I have to say, while it is not my bag at all, if I was about 11-15 I would probably be hot for this vampire stuff. I mean, in my day all we had was Sweet Valley High. Twilight is heaps better than SVH. Like, there are only 4 Twilight books.

I think it is important to keep up with the crazes and fevers that take over the world, otherwise you never know what the crap people are going on about. You become a social pariah. Like for instance I read all the Harry Potter books to see what the fuss was all about. Still don’t get it. Never will. But at least I know who Dumbledore is, and can succeed at Trivial Pursuit.

Really I just like to read, so reading dubious books is no great tax.

Twitter was another thing I thought I should “do” to participate in wordly culture. I can’t say I totally got that one either, but I did get horribly addicted nevertheless and had to go a severe cold turkey. And thank god I did because I found out my boss signed up. It’s bad enough he is my Facebook friend, never mind having him lurking on Twitter as well. Luckily he doesn’t “get” Twitter at all, and never uses Facebook. Which would be great except for the fact that everyone else in the office seems to be on Facebook all the time and they tell him what I write.

Does nobody do any work around here?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 10:38:00

    i tink that Twilight is perfect for the 14-16 year old girls. I’m a bit concerned at the degree to which girls in their 20s are getting into it though.

    I managed to read a few pages and sat through the first movie. And now I feel that I’ve done my pubic duty.

    Never quite got the Sweet Valley thing either. Nancy Drew kicked some serious butt though!

    Reply

  2. Po
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 11:06:57

    Woohoo for Nancy Drew. I am shameless in my reading habits. I am a reading slut, Sweet Valley High was dreadful, you have been saved many braincells. My colleague just sent me odf files of all the Twilight books, but I think 3/4 was enough for me!

    Reply

  3. Fu Yang
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 13:00:34

    Just to clarify, the book was bought under severe pressure from friend that lent second book and insisted i acquire said first book

    Reply

  4. Po
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 13:15:58

    Jaja so did you read them?

    Asparagus Twilight?

    Reply

  5. Damaria Senne
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 19:03:08

    I like mental candy sometimes, so I enjoyed all 4 books. You kinda know how the story goes even as you read, but I was cool with that. The only problem arose when I started thinkling too much about the whole deal Like he goes into her bedroom and watche her sleep. Hello, when did stalking become romantic?

    Reply

  6. shannon
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 20:19:50

    I got about 20 pages into the first one because I, too, wanted to know what all the hype was about. Slogged through the whole stupid book and still didn’t know. But my friend who is a librarian said “You have to read them all just so you can get to the fourth book which is like bad, bad fan fiction on crack.” So I slogged through the first three and oh my God, she was right, it was totally worth it for the trash-tastic-ness that is the fourth one. I can’t WAIT to see how they’ll adapt that one for the tween movie-going set. Poor Rob Pattinson had no idea what he signed on for.

    Reply

  7. Po
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 21:39:32

    Damaria: I think if you think too much about any of that story it gets a bit creepy. I was creeped out by her unfailing desire to be with him and do nothing else, even though she is supposed to be such a smart girl. So much for woman’s lib, she just wants to have vampire babies.
    .
    Shannon: I read the wikipaedia summary of the 4th book. OMG. Trash. What a biologist’s dream. Cross a human with a vampire and… well the vampire is dead for a start so surely he can’t have a living baby, and then is vampireness transmitted via DNA if you can only become a vampire by dying? Surely it is more of a disease, an infliction? Breat feeding seems a little daunting, after all those vampires became veggies by choice, but a baby doesn’t have the capacity to choose. Oh the logsitics. And then that random crap about the wolf somehow imprinting onto the baby. So basically the child is the progeny of a threesome of three freaky people.
    .
    trashtastic indeed!

    Reply

  8. cybersass
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 16:10:48

    ha-ha i have to admit i did read the twilight books, i even bought them, but then i promptly sold the set to an unbelievably rabid fan. i tried watching the movies – unwatchable. though i was a harry potter fan.
    and i truly don’t know how anybody gets any work done with all these social networks. very bad for productivity. when i’m really busy, i’m sometimes offline for days. well, that’s not true, i sometimes just don’t tweet for days! ;)

    Reply

  9. Po
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 17:03:29

    When I was using Twitter at work I can tell you no work was being done. Well, work in between the tweeting. I do feel a lot more free now, but I transferred my Twitter to energy on Facebook, which is just boring and not worthy really.

    Reply

  10. Tamara
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 08:47:02

    I read the first few pages of the first book, but the swarm of adjectives made me dizzy and I had to stop. Every verb does not need an adjective.

    I don’t get Twitter either and am not even on FB. I suck at keeping up with the crazes, but I reckon I’m happy being a social pariah. in fact, the fact that I have no idea what people are on about makes for some hilarious dinner conversations ;-)

    Reply

  11. Po
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 09:04:50

    Tamara: I too noticed the string of sometimes three adjectives. However I thought her writing style was heaps better than that “bone people” which won a huge literary award.

    Reply

  12. Alyssa Larosa
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 11:42:53

    I would like to show thanks to the writer for bailing me out of this particular instance. As a result of searching throughout the online world and obtaining strategies which were not helpful, I thought my life was done. Existing devoid of the solutions to the issues you have resolved by way of your entire website is a serious case, as well as ones which could have badly affected my entire career if I hadn’t noticed the website. Your main know-how and kindness in playing with all the pieces was invaluable. I don’t know what I would have done if I hadn’t come across such a point like this. It’s possible to now look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time very much for the impressive and effective guide. I will not think twice to refer your web sites to anyone who needs counselling about this topic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

