I'm a scientist, get me outta here!

I may be wrong, but I think my brain and body are alerting me to the fact that I may need a holiday.

I’m sure I have mentioned before that I seem to survive three months between holidays before my enthusiasm for and ability to be motivated by work wane. When I start spending too long fooling around on Facebook, and staring at my mail, checking every 5 minutes to see if I have a new one, then I know I am starting to flag.

It doesn’t have to be an overseas holiday, but in the UK people do often go overseas for their holidays, because, well, if you lived here you would know why. They usually go to Europe but seeing as I find getting a Schengen visa a nightmare  I usually go a bit further abroad.

My last holiday was in January! Unless you count random days off to do driving tests. I certainly do not.

I have noticed that it is harder and harder for me to get up for work each day, and much harder for me to concentrate for more than two seconds. Everything bores me now. No motivation to even move.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love my little mutants dearly, and often dream about them on the train and at night (really). They are really cute, you should see them. And although it can be a bit monotonous, creating plant hairstyles is still a good creative outlet.

And now that I have got the hang of it, my job as plant matchmaker and in vitro fertiliser (yes I facilitate plant nookie. I help them make their babies.I act like the wind, or the bees. Or the semen. Eeuw.) is fairly fulfilling. After all I am creating my own mini mutants by hand. I am like their god. Even more so because a few weeks after they give birth, I slaughter the parents in one fell swoop.

She giveth and she taketh away.

And I do still sing the Waka Waka (mentally) when I see the little white strips of joy that mean I have made a succesful DNA fragment (see, like the god of DNA ).

I really am in an omnipotent position over here in the lab.  Not many people have an army of their own mutant worshippers. And I don’t even have to wear the safety glasses any more. Well I do, but I just don’t. I’m on strike. As is everyone in the building. I am waiting for a stern email, which we shall obey for two weeks, and then go back to doing what we did before. Using the safety glasses as alicebands.

I don’t know what I am complaining about. Sometimes I think I am going insane, but really I’m fine, probably I don’t even need a holiday at all. Me and my mutants. Just hanging out in the lab. Oh and the flies.

Gotta go style some mutants now. You know, the usual humdrum day.

What will you do today?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 09:32:16

    The glee that comes through on what you do to plants – very funny. I’m playing single parent and just finished teaching ball to 4-6 year olds. Hence why I am now sitting on my butt before computer :-)

    Reply

  2. dash
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 12:30:27

    it’s the sane ones that you need to worry about!

    Reply

  3. Damaria Senne
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 12:31:17

    A holiday sounds good. Gives you the chance to rest and relac, before you get back to playing “plant pimp.”

    Reply

  4. Po
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 13:10:38

    Tiah: haha I think I am faking the enthusuiasm a bit. Starting to feel weary of mating mutants. But when I think about it my job is pretty weird. In verbal terms anyway. The actual work is dull.
    .
    Dash: I have yet to meet a so called “sane”person, so I am not too worried yet. Scientists don’t come in that brand.
    .
    Damaria: plant pimp whahahaha. That is just the term I was looking for!

    Reply

  5. Champagne Heathen
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 13:35:34

    Some company sent my building some email about how we are supposed to coat every last inch of our office space in plant life. To keep us workers happy & humid, or something. Was this you, Po? Your strategy for world domination?

    Reply

  6. Prixie
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 13:38:25

    That is a very long time in which you have been working. Go on holiday NOW! :)

    A few days before I went on leave, I was doing stupid things like turning the coffee machine on without putting in any water (my jug cracked! sigh) and I left my office access card in the car, even though I need it in the building. We have a huge office park and a few buildings. I was very annoyed with myself!

    When I was in the UK, I REALLY enjoyed Edinburgh and Hastings – no Schengan required! :)

    Reply

  7. Po
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 14:01:41

    Prixie: but I do that kind of thing on a daily basis, holiday or not! Haha. The problem with me it, I have been in this country too long. Been there done that, ticked all the touristy places in the UK. It has been a very rainy month, but there is a bank holiday this weekend so if there is decent weather I am sure we will go some place. But this doesn’t count as a holiday to me. I need at least a week in a HOT country where I can zone out and enjoy another culture.
    .
    Champagne heathen: mwahaha I will have to send you over some of my mutants. Although Aus is like the most strict country ever even on normal plants, I doube my mutants would make customs.

    Reply

  8. Paula
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 21:45:54

    GO! GO! GO! on holiday! If you need it, and you can, I say do it! I know that holiday itch. It’s insatiable.
    .
    That plant is so cute!!!! Teehee
    .
    I’m going to read all your links now… excuse me XD

    Reply

  9. Tamara
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 09:32:31

    Yet another South African on strike!

    I need holidays regularly too, even if it’s just a weekend away. Sometimes the budget doesn’t play along though.

    I told you about the version of Waka Waka we had the Mexicans singing, right (Waka Waka gaan kak)? Well, now when I’m cross with TSC, I just tell him Waka Waka. He knows what I mean ;-)

    Reply

  10. Po
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 13:26:08

    argh guys I really really need a holiday now, it is getting serious. I can’t even pretend to work. I think about going home all the time. It’s just not cool, not productive at all. Unfortunately October is the soonest I can go. How will I make to October?!!
    .
    Tamara: whaha now when I hear that song it has whole new levels of significance. I must tell BFG about this.
    .
    Paula: I know, it is all I can think about! And it is so cold here now, August is supposed to be the hottest month but it is like winter, I have the heater on most nights now :(

    Reply

  11. Helen
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 13:32:03

    I wish I could work with plants and not have them all die on me almost immediately!

    just killed my kudu lily :(

    Today I will finish up the analysis I’ve been working on for the last week, draft a chunk of a paper and then pack a bag in the hope that I might go to the farm tomorrow (alternatively I will go home at the end of the day in a very bad mood).

    Can’t you go somewhere North-Africaish? Like Mali? http://www.jimmychinphotography.com/hand_of_fatima_expedition/000137.htm

    Reply

  12. Po
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 14:19:27

    So long as Norm is ok?! Hwehe I killed a few cacti in my time, so I don’t think you need to worry. Luckily the plants I use are weeds so I don’t really have to encourage them to grow.
    .
    I can go to North Africa, I can go anywhere, but where I have to go, is Dubai. Blegh. It would not be on my list of places to see, ever, and I have been there so many times now. The BFG’s parents just moved back there from China. We were planning a China and Vietnam trip and now we have to go to Dubai. Again. I mean, I know there are some people who would give anything to go to Dubai but it is really not my bag, that whole flashy, rich people only please lifestyle. The desert is nice, but I love to see new cultures and things. We don’t have that much money so I like to use it on new adventures.
    .
    But at least Dubai should be hot!!

    Reply

  13. SheBee
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 16:02:55

    Dude. A holiday sounds soooooooo good right now. Jon and I want to go overseas on a proper holiday, where it’s a couple of weeks without family interruptions and huge agendas.

    I hope your brain readjusts soon!

    Reply

  14. Old Testament Book
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 14:30:48

    I appreciate you posting this. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

