He is house trained, I swear.

We have finally booked a week’s holiday in November! Very good news, although a week is too short, November is too freaking far away, and we are going to Dubai. I have been to Dubai many times, it’s boring for me now. It would never have made my list of places to visit, ever ever, but the BFG’s parents have lived there for many years and we need to see them and the weather will be fantastic so yippee! We were planning to go visit them in China but they rather inconveniently moved back to Dubai.

I just hope that there is a tiny piece of beach somewhere, anywhere, in the vicinity of Dubai that has been left open to the public for free, because every time I go there more and more of the coastline is colonised by monstrous hotels and weird Palm Tree islands. I want to SWIM.

i am very concerned about my ability to survive til November though, I am not coping too well. You know that feeling you get when you are in a tunnel, and all you can see is straight ahead, and all you know how to do is work, eat, sleep, keep going in the tunnel? I feel like that. I realised that all I can remember about last year is my holidays, the rest is a blur. So far this year has not really had a holiday, which means that this year does not exist! Freaky.

Anyway, I appealed to the BFG for suggestions on how to survive til November (via email):

Po: we are going to have to come up with cunning plans to help me cope until November!

BFG: sun bed and sandpit, and kiddies pool, sounds of waves, and a large screen, every weekend somewhere different. i like the sandpit idea, you may struggle to get me out of it though

Po: AWESOME! so long as you don’t poo in it like other small kids do it is fine :)

BFG: I might eat it though so we might need to do a number of trips

Po: ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh what are you eating, the sand or the poo?!

Erm, and after that little bout of overshare on a Friday, does anyone have any better ideas for how I can cope til I get my frikkin holiday?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Damaria Senne
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 09:51:18

    sorry. my mind is blank. Can’t wait for my holiday either.. which will be in Dec.

    Reply

  2. tiah
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 10:40:59

    More Po & BFG emails please :-)

    Reply

  3. poractacuscotts
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 07:48:26

    I’m going on holiday in November too! Except some people wouldn’t call it a holiday. A 690km ride around the state! WOOT, but November is a while away. Mayeb you just need to get out of town for the weekend, and do nothing. Find a nice B7B somewhere with a fireplace and read books.

    Reply

  4. poractacuscotts
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 07:49:14

    that was meant to be B&B!

    Reply

  5. Tamara
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:27:00

    Still trying to find ways of keeping some semblance of sanity till our “holiday” to my in-laws in Upington in December (not my favourite people, not my favourite place AND there’s a wedding where I will be the only English speaker). Let me know if you find any winners.

    And please excuse me if I sound bitter. I’ll happily take pointers on dealing with that too!

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:38:37

    I like the sandpit idea… although it makes me giggle now.

    I like the B&B idea, even if it’s just around the corner, go and take a mini-break and let someone else look after you!

    Reply

  7. Po
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 15:49:52

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. Holiday. That is all I can think about. November is another country.

    Reply

  8. Midnitegem
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 11:02:33

    Lets go climbing…. down by the sea perhaps??

    Reply

  9. Po
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 11:47:01

    Sounds good, I am busy this weekend but after that I am free, no plans, are you keen for Portland or some trad at Swanage? Or Wales?

    Reply

  10. Spear The Almighty
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 11:53:38

    Hey! You should come visit me. Seriously, if you guys want to have a drink / lunch etc, I’m in. No pressure.

    Jumeirah Beach is still open and free. Abu Dhabi did a amazing beach development also which have free areas and paid areas. (Very cheap, something like AED 10 / day)

    Also the huge Mosque in Abu Dhabi is open and they give free tours at 10:00 in the morning. It is worth seeing.

    Reply

  11. Po
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 12:28:17

    Hey Spear, thanks! I will mail, or contact you a bit closer to the time, but that would be so cool! I don’t think we will have our own transport but we shall see what we can get up to! I remember driving through Abu Dhabi sooo many years ago, like 2003, I can’t imagine how much it must have changed since then. Back then it reminded me of a safe, clean version of down town Durban.

    Reply

  12. Paula
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 00:34:26

    make a music video? or make a zeen? – indoor
    .
    outdoor- make a vegie/flower garden, visit a museum with a packed lunch?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

