book list 2010

I am back! What do you mean you didn’t notice I was gone?

I was hosting my Chinese sister last week. She spent the last year living and travelling all over China and then Japan, all by herself, and her pictures, stories, and videos are enough to keep a person occupied for years. There are very few people I know who could do what she did the way she did it, and make so many friends along the way. I did wish for a while that she would write a blog about it all, but actually now I am not sure. Blogs tend to lead towards analysis and dissection. I think I prefer an oral tradition when it comes to travelling tales.

I have been wanting to blog about books, reading and writing for a while now, because these are some of my favourite things, so I will start off by posting my reading list for this year. I’m not posting it to show off.

No wait I am.

No but, yeah but, no but here is what I have read so far this year, and can anyone come up with suggestions as to what to read next, because I have a book voucher burning in my pocket and I want to use it. As you can see I have expended a more than average amount of time and money on books this year.

Books I have read in 2010:

The Spud series books 1-3 by John Van de Ruit ****

The Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts *****

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov *****

The grass is singing by Doris Lessing *****

The stone angel – Margaret Laurence ****

The Crow Road – Iain Banks ***

The wasp factory – Iain Banks ***

Hard boiled wonderland and the end of the world – Haruki Murakami ****

The Gathering – Anne Enright *****

The road to Absalom – Michael Gastrow *

Notes on a scandal – Zoe Heller *****

Blood ties – David Adams Richards***

Boyhood – J.M.Coetzee*****

Youth – J.M.Coetzee***

Summertime – J.M Coetzee****

The go-between – L.P. Hartley*****

The glass menagerie
– Tennessee Williams****

The bone people – Keri Hulme*

Waiting – Ha Jin****

The world according to Garp – John Irving***

The stolen child
– Keith Donohue****

The book thief – Markus Zusak****

Brideshead revisited – Evelyn Waugh****

The thousand autumns of Jacob de Zoet
– David Mitchell****

The elegance of the hedgehog – Muriel Barbery****

When I forgot – Elina Hirvonen****

The Lacuna – Barbara Kingsolver***** Highly recommended.

Mister Pip – Lloyd Jones****

The wind up bird chronicles – Haruki Murakami***

IF you have read any of these, or haven’t but want to know about them, feel free to tell me about what you think or want to know.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Champagne Heathen
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 09:15:51

    I’m sure I’ve recommended at least one of these before, and I actually “hate” recommending, cause I like books for my own personal reasons & what my mind gets out of it, rather than cause I could deem it universally great writing, but never being one to shut up….!

    – The Wasted Vigil by Nadeem Aslam – about Afghanistan, seen through the characterisation of the many players in that “situation”

    – Around Africa on my bicycle – Riaan Manser -I’ve just finished it & I loved it & want more! For me, it was the mood booster I needed. I needed to remind myself to look at life that way… & it made my continent look incredible!

    – Eating Air – Pauline Melville – I enjoyed it. Very different to my usual book list

    Keep the book lists coming! Esp cause I like to know someone is reading as much as I would love to!!

    Reply

  2. Tamara
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 10:44:31

    I’ve read some of those too and enjoyed them, so may take your list with me the next time I hit EB or my library for recommendations (I always go blank about what I originally wanted when I walk into a room full of books).

    Reply

  3. Paula
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 11:12:45

    Ack. I’ve never bothered to remember books I’ve read unless they’ve had some effect on me. Which has been about one…
    .
    But what an interesting list. i think there are three or four I’ve been meaning to read. My actual problem going into a book store is going for the books I have read before… or going for covers. I’m an aesthetics person… I know it’s bad. I lose perception of time in book stores though because I like to read the first few pages to see if I’ll get sucked in. That’s generally my deciding factor. But I also like the design section- there are so many work books and autobiography’s its amazing.
    .
    Did Haruki Murakami mind f*** you or what? I recently read two of his short story compilation books… called… ack I can’t remember off hand. But I would read and then get really confused. After I realised his style but what a jedi mind trick. Crap now the names are going to bother me till I can go read them on my sister’s book shelf.
    .
    You know I haven’t read ANY of the books on your list. I suspect the glass menagerie but then I don’t.

    Reply

  4. tiah
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 13:10:17

    Reply

  5. poractacuscotts
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 11:56:54

    Wow! That’s a lot. I can’t remember the names of the books I’ve read this year, and I always struggle when looking for something new. I’ll be sure to check back on your list when I am struggling. And I am definitely going to check out that goodreads website.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

