Vanishing post!

Okaaaaaay, this is totally weird. I wrote a post about commuting, I saw it published, and I read the comments people made on it. I was going to reply this evening after work, and here I am coming to reply, only the post is gone!

There is a missing post. I have no idea what happened to it. Thank you for all the comments, I did read them.

Shannon, I was pondering as to why so many young South Africans still smoke, and obviously I have noooo idea.

But I can guess. Firstly, South Africa is quite a bit behind Europe and the US in terms of paradigm and trends of thought, but we tend to follow suit, so maybe there is a lag?

Secondly, when I was growing up parents adopted a very strict, almost draconian and disciplinarian method of parenting. If they told you to do something, it was unnaceptable to ask why, you must just do it or else get smacked or severely punished in some way. Which of course leads to widespread rebellion. Obviously, I always asked why, and suffered the consequences.

It could be that parents’ methods of getting their kids not to smoke did not involve instilling the fear of death in them, but rather instilling fear of the parents, which is usually innefectual. I know this parenting method didn’t work on me, but luckily I had the fear of death by cancer instilled in me by other means so I never ever smoked.

I think when SA catches up with the more easygoing and advanced parenting methods of the rest of the world, then maybe there will be less rebellion, and hopefully the terror of having tarred lungs will take over. After all, we still had corporal punishment in our schools until I was about 13, so about 1993? I think parents are already chilling out over there so the lag will catch up.

That is the theory of an armchair sociologist. I would take it with more than a few pinches of salt.

I hope I can find my post again!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Po
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 20:50:57

    I just realised my post about the South African media is gone too! Ok now I am freaked out, is WordPress censoring me or what? How ironic ;)
    .
    I have that post in a file so I can repost it but where are they disappearing to? SUCKS!

    Reply

  2. Spear The Almighty
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 08:44:07

    I stopped smoking on 9/11. Very glad I did.

    Reply

  3. Tamara
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 08:45:39

    I saw those posts in my reader and came over here to comment and they’re gone. Weird. When I click on the links I get a “page not found” message. Bah!

    Reply

  4. Prixie
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 08:54:59

    hmm… Nancy Drew and the case of the Missing Post! or Sherlock Holmes and the Missing Post Mystery!

    Hope you find it!

    Reply

  5. Po
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 21:10:14

    Still no sign of my posts! Oh wellll, I might republish the media one out of self absorption. Where is Nancy when you need her?!

    Reply

  6. tiah
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 09:20:26

    I saw it, too! Does Blogger censor? I know WP does from time to time. Not that I can think of anything dodgy about that post.

    Reply

  7. tiah
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 09:22:55

    Aaaaaaaaaaand where the heck is your Press Freedom post? I’ve linked to that one – argh! It was a very good post, too.

    Reply

  8. Po
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 11:25:25

    Tiah: I think it is an admin issue, to do with who hosts my blog. I have no idea about these things, but I don’t really think I was censored. It would be too funny, or too scary! if I was.

    Reply

  9. tiah
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 11:49:28

    Oh, I skimmed the comments and missed you noticing the media one had vanished. I’m sure it is an admin thing – but the fact it was on media / censorship is amusing.

    Reply

  10. Paula
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 21:02:42

    wonder how it disappeared- totally weird.
    .
    The thing is, I think, parents are now more allowing than their parents were. Like my parents allow for us to argue our way into things. They hate that I smoke so they have restricted that I cannot do it on home ground. And they should never see me doing it. And I like to bring up the fact that there are pictures of them smoking so they can’t convict me of crimes they committed.

    Reply

  11. Shannon
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 09:42:52

    Have you contacted the site admin, are the posts just floating in the ether or will they reappear?

    Interesting thoughts on parenting…I know my parents frowned upon it, but they gave the impression that they just thought it was gross and stupid. There is a class element about it here too–it’s kind of white trash. People who play sports and work out and eat healthily–ie the middle class–are not going to sabotage all their efforts by smoking.

    They’ve also been doing some very savvy public awareness, making cool ads, basically positioning it as “Big Tobacco is totally using you to make money because they think you’re stupid” to appeal to a sense of rebellion and idealism in kids. Lots of ads about how rat poison and other nasty things are in cigs, but done by hipsters, not the solemn voice-overs of public service announcements from when we were kids. And–quite cleverly–they focus not just on the health aspects but the physical appearance–smoking makes your hair and clothes smell, yellows your teeth, and ages your skin. Honestly that probably makes more of an impression on teenagers than the idea that in 40 years’ time they might get cancer.

    Reply

  12. Po
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 18:59:07

    Shannon: you have a good point there, young people don’t belive death can ever happen to them. I kind of forgot about that, seeing as death is definitely a reality I know about now! I think the looking gross and going ugly tactic is a surefire way of getting teens to comply.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

