Where I write about not writing.

I am definitely more in a reading stage of blogging than a writing one right now. I am sorely lacking inspiration in the writing arena.

I feel like I have nothing interesting or unique or funny to say. This could stem in part from my mole in a tunnel syndrome. Maybe after my holiday (still counting down the days!) the world will be all new and shiny and I’ll have something to say. But for now my life is dull.

I have been reading so many great blog posts lately. People’s lives are fascinating to me, the differences and the similarities we share. I feel so lucky to have found so many great bloggers to read and be blog friends with. So I thought I would share a few of the posts I have really enjoyed reading.

Carebear in crazyland: Cannonballing into the world of swimming

Storypot: blog action day: my water story

Doodles of a Journo: Joburg ate my work/ life balance (and a long ramble about consumerism).

Sleepyjane: It just might be.

Hyperbole and a half: the God of cake.

Enjoy! I hope you like them as much as I did.

And I forgot to say before how FLIPPING proud I was of the South African gymnasts in the Commonwealth Games. I nearly burst a blood vessel with pride. I watched two apparatus finals in my lunch break and I was beaming with pride.

If you knew how far they had come, and how far they can still go, you would be beaming with pride too. Jennifer Khwela has trained at the gym I trained at. How proud am I! My little gym in my little town producing someone who won SA’s second Commonwealth gym medal ever. I feel it would be sad and South African to mention that she is black, but if you knew how unlikely a dream it was to imagine a black woman being the top South African gymnast and competing in World level gymnastics 15 years ago, then you would be bursting a blood vessel too.

daylife.com

So much good has happened since Mandela walked out of prison all those years ago. Sometimes it is so easy to be proud of your home country :)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Damaria Senne
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 17:08:19

    I’m glad you enjoyed my water post. thanks for highlighting it.

    And I totally get what you mean about the changes that have happened in SA in the past 15 years. wa also impressed with SA’s performance at the Commonwealth Game. The athletes seemed to have upped their game in general, which was really nice.

    Reply

  2. poractacuscotts
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 02:28:15

    will definitely check out those posts. I have a lot of procrastinating to do today as I have a presentation tomorrow!

    Reply

  3. sleepyjane
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 07:17:13

    Thanks for the link back – it’s really a great feeling knowing someone else understands where you’re coming from, you know?

    Reply

  4. Tamara
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 10:49:09

    Thanks for the link love, Polonium. *blushes* Thanks also for reading the whole way through my ridiculously long post and still liking it.

    That photo on your post is amazing. She looks like a superhero. In a way, I guess she kinda is.

    Reply

  5. Po
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 21:04:43

    Thanks guys, hope you enjoyed! Tamara, she is my superhero! I would kill to be able to assume tha position. Sadly my boundless enthusiasm for gymnastics was not matched by any semblance of ability.

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 14:00:06

    I miss your posts… and blame you for losing a day and a half to those blogs.

    And now I have a weird craving for cake. I don’t even like cake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

