Send it forward.

My Dad used to send me a lot of forwards. He’s a bit better now. I may have dropped a few hints here and there.

Firstly there are the cute or interesting or AMAZING!!!!!! or YOU ARE AN AMAZING SPECIAL, UNIQUE PERSON!!I HAVE SENT THIS TO 40 FRIENDS, YOU MUST TOO OR YOU WILL SUFFER INSTANT DEATH BY INSTANT NOODLES!!

Sometimes i will look at the pictures of the cute cuddly animals. Sometimes not. I will leave it up to your interpretation to guess how frequently I lean towards looking, and how often I hit the delete button without opening the thing.  Ahem.

Secondly there are the PANIC!!!!!! mails. Either it is terrifying canola oil that will kill us all!!!  (my dad forgets I have studied biology, and that all the stuff in this particular mail was written by someone who had not) or it is some nasty mail about some terrible crime going on, or his most favourite topic of the moment, something to do with frauds or scams. He still doesn’t seem to realise that for whatever reasons, people have made most of these mails up. Writing the letters PhD at the end of a made up name in a mail takes two seconds. It doesn’t take an actual PhD.

I got a mail from him a while ago. It said something like:

Did you know that all chain mails and forwards are likely to have spying software (or some terrible virus, I can’t remember?) built into them. If you forward them you  will spread it blah blah. You should never forward any mail demanding you to FORWARD IT!!

Please forward this mail to all of your contacts asap to warn them of this threat.

He forwarded it to me.

For real.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 08:53:32

    LOL my dad is a forwarded mail person too… and what’s worse he writes little comments. He’s added me to facebook- a wee bit frightening- like I can’t just wantonly update my status anymore.

    Reply

  2. Damaria Senne
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 08:57:03

    ROFL.

    I have friends who also drive me nuts forwarding stuff ( usually jokes) to me. I have asked them politely not to, because I have limited banddon’t read the stuff, it chows up my bandwidth and half the time it’s a waste of time. They still forward.

    so I wrote about it for a magazine and they read the column and laughed with me.. they still forward.

    This morning I was chatting to a friend and she said, “I know you don’t like people spamming you with stuff, but….” and you got it! she forwarded the useless stuff anyway.

    It’s an incurable disease, I tell you!

    Reply

  3. Tamara
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 10:21:42

    I don’t mind putting up with the occasional friend or relative that forwards me crap, but what I can’t handle is the random people I barely know who send me rubbish.

    Reply

  4. Shannon
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 12:57:26

    My dad only sends the cautionary ones: what to do if you are abducted/in a fire/traveling alone/trapped in a mine shaft. However–and for this I am actually grateful–after I debunked some of the rightwing craziness his friends send him, he now vets it with me, so I get these forwards that are like “Obama is plotting with Kenyan rebels!” with a note that says “check this out for me.” It would be easier if he would just go to snopes.com as I keep directing him, but in the absence of that, at least I feel I’m doing some good by telling him it’s rubbish and keeping the chain from continuing.

    Reply

  5. tiah
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 17:19:23

    At least he didn’t send your bank details to a ‘prince’ is a land far-far-away.

    Reply

  6. tiah
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 17:20:01

    in…sigh…

    Reply

  7. Helen
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 10:18:13

    I hate forwards! Well ostly. Some of them are awesome. I’m lucky in that most of my friends only forward stuff I’ll really appreciate, and most of them are bright enough to delete the gazillian “Original mail, from:…… to:…….. and a million email addresses afterwards so you have to scroll down for years to find the actual message.

    I’m currently trying to teach them that if they love a message that much they can delete the stuff about making a wish and sending it to a million people for fear of growing a third eye on top of their heads, and just sending the message for what it is.

    mixed success so far.

    I also spam-block the people who send to many silly messages and then go through the junk folder later when I have time.

    Reply

  8. Dora
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 08:48:55

    HAHA! I wish I’m the smartass who created that! :D

    And yeah, I don’t mind forwards from real friends. But from people I barely know who put me on their forward list to make up numbers because if they don’t sent it to 40 people they will never ever find real true love?! *gasp*

    Argh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

