Naaice.

Why is everyone in South Africa googling “It’s good good good, it’s good it’s nice”?

I ask because my blog stats tell me about a million people have been led to my blog with this search term in the last few days. Which must be highly annoying for them, because I happened to use that phrase as a random, meaningless tag to a post.

If you don’t know, it’s a line from the sugar advert from the old days. Remember? “I l-o-o-o-ove su-u-u-gar”. The smiling kid with the sugarcane? I can’t find a youtube video of it.

So now you know.

UPDATE:

OMG – scuse the blasphemy but humble pie <= I am eating it!

I was perusing the interwebs and found the sugar ad, and “it’s good good good, it’s good it’s nice” is soooo not from the sugar ad. The sugar ad goes “nature gives us energy. I looove suuugar.”

“It’s good good good it’s good it’s nice” is the old CHICKEN LICKEN  slogan. How could I have forgotten this? I hang my head in shame. I even maintain a South African advert jingles group on Facebook. Here is the chicken licken ad:

Sorry for misleading the world. I hope I have cleared up the crucial matter of which jingle goes with which advert for ever more.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Damaria Senne
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 14:24:05

    I remember that advert. Now you know you need to write more posts about “It’s good good good, it’s good it’s nice” so you can attract more traffic to your blog, get famous, make lotsa money…..huh. Maybe not.

    Reply

  2. Po
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 14:29:25

    hey Damaria, do you have any idea why people are googling it now? Has there been an ad remake or something? Weird.

    Reply

  3. tiah
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 18:10:02

    No idea. But hey – new readers!

    Reply

  4. Po
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 19:19:42

    Tiah: hehe I don’t think so though, the post involved is rather random and rubbish.

    Reply

  5. Paula
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 19:49:31

    LOL but then they land on your page and stay for the posts. My landing pages are normally for the one picture I have of Kaka. It’s sad but funny

    Reply

  6. Spear The Almighty
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 06:47:00

    Po, I’ll be out of the UAE from 17th – 24th. 25thm my wife is delivering the baby. Woohoo! Anyway, here is my email. thealmightyspear@gmail.com

    Reply

  7. Po
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 08:53:55

    Thanks Spear! I have a feeling we may miss eachother, but that is very exciting news! I hope it goes well.

    Reply

  8. Po
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 08:54:39

    Paula: hmmm, eye candy or potentially rude words, that is what attracts people to our blogs. What can we do?

    Reply

  9. Prixie
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 10:11:52

    Gee thanks, now I have these jingles stuck in my head! lol…

    Reply

  10. Tamara
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 06:48:18

    Good old jingles those. Do you remember the All Gold one (tastes real good) and the one for washing powder that went “It’as good and clean and fresh tra-la-la”? Also “I wanna be a Simba chippie”.

    Reply

  11. Tamara
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 06:48:57

    Sorry… It’s good and clean and fresh tra-la-la, not It’as.

    Reply

  12. Helen
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 08:58:42

    i remember being shocked that the kid stuck a peach (or something orange) in the sugar and ate it. Way to promote healthy eating!

    And now the All Gold song is stuck in my head…

    Reply

  13. Marie
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 17:04:01

    Ja. Because sugar gives you go! You want the good things in life? Go for it.

    Oy.

    Reply

  14. Chris
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 23:35:26

    Please can someone tell me the product that had the jingle “Its good and clean and fresh tralala”. Its been bothering me for days now.
    Please help, anybody

    Reply

    • poseamonkey
      Jun 21, 2013 @ 08:47:50

      Chris it is a washing powder, but I have gone blank on which one! Sorry. I think it may actually have been called good and clean and fresh?

      Reply

      • Goldie
        Oct 18, 2016 @ 07:45:55

        The washing powder’s name was Good and Clean and Fresh – a green and white box. I used it for my son’s nappies

  15. Janine
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:02:51

    Its country fresh fabric softener . Guy with white shirt waltz around with big smile . That ad and jingle was so damn good , withing a week from when it was launched the whole schoolbus smelt like apple . . . Lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

