Brasil.

I am FINALLY going on holiday on Friday to Dubai, and already I have booked tickets for another holiday over Christmas time! It’s all about blowing all your money over here in seamonkey land.

I have a dream, a dream of not sounding like Martin Luther King… where was I? Oh yes, I have been dreaming about travelling around South America for some years now. My vision was always to go for as long as I needed, do the backpacking thing for a few months. Well, sadly grown up life as I know it has not really afforded me the time or the opportunity to do this; or when it has I was too damnfool stupid to take it. So I was scheming a 5 week trip to do as much as I could in a whistlestop tour and still be within my allocated leave.

Unfortunately even this dream was vetoed by Fate and so I had to settle for a four week holiday. I had to admit that there was no way I could do and see all I wanted to in Peru, Bolivia, Chile and Brazil, maybe even Argentina, in four weeks. Five was pushing it.

So I am putting the dream to one side, and hoping and praying like a mantis that some time in my life I will still get to do it.

Instead I am going to Brazil for four weeks! Brasiiiiiiiiiiiiil!

My timing is possibly not the best considering Rio is party central and I will be there over New Years. Accomodation is almost all booked up and the average shared dorm hostel bed seems to be going for about £50-£70. So yes. Also I am an old and peaceful soul and not much of a party animal. I like to sleep. Never mind the fact that we could be sleeping on the streets, they will be noisy streets.

Then there is the language issue. I know basically no Portuguese. Nada. Except obrigado.

I did capoeira for two years, so I know the Brazilian accent and I know the words for things like “headbutt” and “spinning kick” and “forward kick” and “monkey” (there was a move that looked like a monkey).

Also in capoeira we had to sing songs. Sadly the songs are not very informative either. One consists entirely of the words: “Oh sim sim sim, oh nao nao nao.” Which translates to “oh yes yes yes, oh no no no.” Others are along the lines of “o la le la”. I don’t think we need a translation here.

So I can manage to say “Nao cabecada” which I hope indicates “no headbutt”, and “sim caiparinha,” which roughly translates to “yes, tasty cocktail”. And that’s about it. I know Rio supposedly has a high crime rate and I almost hope I get mugged just so I can ask the mugger not to spinkick me.

I’m sure communication in Brazil will be a cinch, sim sim sim? I plan to just say “vuvuzela” a lot. One plastic horn speaks volumes.


10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 08:24:54

    I have never been to South America. I envy your adventures, even if it is only one country, it is still an admirable start. In the meantime, enjoy Dubai!

    Reply

  2. Spear The Almighty
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 09:12:37

    One will be careful what one say on your blog to avoid getting one’s ass kicked capoeira style. :)

    Reply

  3. Helen
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 09:58:35

    All you need to know: http://www.weebls-stuff.com/songs/Brazil/

    Can’t wait to read about your adventures! And enjoy Dubai! Too bad you’ve just missed the cricket…

    Reply

  4. Po
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 10:48:46

    Tiah: thank you!! Can’t wait. Am crawling through work like a slug in a drought.

    spear the almighty: haha the thing about capoeira is that it is all about pretense, the pretense of fighting. Well, actually the top capoeira guys are lethal and add in jujitsu and the no-contact falls away, but at my level… lets just say my spinkick looks more like a gymnastics or dance move, it wouldn’t hurt a fly!.
    .
    Helen: ah but the 5 day games, the 5 day games are still one! I am tempted to go and see one. It’s beena while since I saw a live game. Thanks for the link!

    Reply

  5. Champagne Heathen
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 07:20:26

    I am going to a Brazilian festival on Sunday at a museum (of all odd choices of locations!?) – I will be sure to do methodical research for you, especially into their rum-based beverages!

    Reply

  6. Tamara
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 09:07:04

    Wow! That’s so exciting! I’d love to go to South America. I’m sure you’ll be just fine with the language. Hand gestures and signals are pretty much universally standard ;-)

    Reply

  7. Po
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 15:45:50

    Champagne heathen: I have a feeling that knowledge of the rum-based beverages is the most important thing to know!
    .
    Tamara: I hope so. I’ve heard that it’s quite difficult to get by on English. I hope you get to go some day too. Maybe we should do Macchu Pichu together some time?!

    Reply

  8. Damaria Senne
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 15:48:42

    This holiday sounds great. Take lotsa pictures, so we can see what you’d been up to when you come back.

    Reply

  9. Champagne Heathen
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 08:01:39

    We didn’t actually get rum (curses) but what we did get, were “Brazilian BBQs”. A whole lotta of every type of meat in a tasty hot dog roll! Yum!!!

    And we were too out-queued for some sugar cane drink whose name I forget but looked like it would’ve been soooo good with just a ‘splash’ of rum! Mmmm

    Enjoy Brazil!!

    Reply

  10. sleepyjane
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 08:56:48

    Oooooooh! I am so jealous! :) And I can’t wait to read about all your adventures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

