Shot, Dot.

I am trying very hard to play the grownup here. I have been booking things and organising things like crazy for our trip to Brazil, and one thing I couldn’t get a clear idea of was, do we need shots for Brazil?

I’ve never had any shots before for any kind of travelling. When I bought the Lonely Planet for Thailand, it recommended about 6 different shots but when I asked my South African buddies who had been a few years before, they said (and I quote, so don’t blame me) “nah, that’s just for the Brits.” Ok so we didn’t get any shots. And we lived to tell the tale.

So I was happy to do the same for Brazil but Brazil is flipping complicated and the information varies. We are not planning to go to the jungle this time so we should be safe for malaria, but we are planning to go to Foz de Iguacu, where there is a low malaria risk.

Also there is this Yellow Fever malarkey. Some say get the vaccination, some say don’t get it. If you go to the travel information for 2010 they say people have had Yellow Fever in the last few months in Brazil, so everyone should get it. A girl at my work told me that her doctor in the Netherlands told her the Yellow Fever vaccine is almost entirely useless so they just gave her a certificate that said she had the shots. Other people tell me that if I don’t get it many countries may refuse me entry because I have been in a Yellow Fever zone.

So I cracked and saw the travel nurse. And she told us to get everything. Well, the Yellow Fever (£55) and all the free shots that she can give us. They do a whole lot of them for free. I was like, sure, they’re free! Like candy! And we’ll be sorted for years!

She tried to convince us to take the Malaria stuff as well, but we won’t because there really is no point as we are not going to the jungle. So I have to have a total of 6 injections for this holiday.

Last week we had the first batch. I have a strong tolerance to pain, and both shots were barely a prick. I was A-ok. I was like She-ra. Until I stood up. Oh dear. The world suddenly tried to vacate my head through my ears. I couldn’t walk two steps without needing to sit/lie down but the BFG kept trying to get me to walk, he wouldn’t bring the car to me and it was minus degrees outside and I was on the verge of blacking out.

Eventually I had to go sit at a bus stop (trying to force myself not to black out – it was hard) while he fetched the car, and drove me to a shop. I kind of passed out on his seat, half ready to throw up (apparently the typhoid shot does this to people) until he brought me some juice and some sweets and I was ok again. I felt weak for two days afterwards.

So can you guess how excited I am for the next round of THREE shots I have this week. I would prefer agonising pain over this passing out shit. It’s just awful. And now that I am scared and anticipating the keeling over, I’m guessing it’s 99% more certain to happen than when I was happy and calm. Eeep. Will arm myself with copious amounts of grape juice.

Being a grown up bites.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 10:14:16

    You should have seen the list of shots advised when I told my doctor I was going to study in SA. Even after I showed them that Cape Town was NO WHERE near the malaria zone – I ended up with enough pills to kit out an entire safari group for the holidays. In fact, I think I did hand a few over for something like that.

    I don’t know. Shots stink. Their pros and cons are always up in the air. However, one thing that was pointed out to me for something we were debating for the kids, was that doctors in a local area know to look out for certain things. Doctors in your place of residence don’t. So if you come back with something non-local, not only is it harder for your local GP to recognize it, the latest treatments / methods are not nec available. Your GP learned about it back in 1966…may not be the best way to really deal with X problem. Which all adds up to – what’s the incubation period for X bug? Would you still be in Brazil? Or back in the UK, land of the flue, colds and MRSA. :-)

    Reply

  2. Po
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 10:17:21

    Tiah: heehee well when I moved from Durban to Cape Town nobody told me to get any shots, frik danger seamonkey :)
    .
    I guess foreign doctors want to cover all their bases. But urgh I think it’s better to only take them if they are necessary, especially the malaria pills cos they can have nasty side effects. Or so I’ve heard. I’ve never actually taken them.

    Reply

  3. Shannon
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 10:25:14

    I thought I was the only person who reacted that way to the typhoid shot! I had to reschedule a final exam because I was miserable for two days. Awful. Yellow fever was fine though and I’d been told some people have adverse reactions to that.

    Reply

  4. Po
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 10:27:33

    Yay Shannon, it wasn’t only me! Ok that sounds totally twisted, I’m not glad you felt like that, it was nasty. But am encouraged to hear it may not be a repeat performance. Yuck. Am taking the juice and sweets just in case though.

    Reply

  5. A Daft Scots Lass
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 10:42:32

    Shots are a small price to pay to go to Brazil!!!

    Reply

  6. Damaria Senne
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 10:42:37

    Ah sorry. Shots suck. Hopefully, the Brazil experience will make it all worthwhile.

    Reply

  7. Louisa
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 16:20:48

    That really does not sound like a fun way to start a vacation.

    Reply

  8. Po
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 08:58:50

    I am happy to say I didn’t pass out yesterday, even though the injection was a biggie. I think it was just the typhoid one. The Yellow fever is today, lets see how that goes. Eep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

