Two thousand and hen/pen/men/other lame rhyme.

Every year that I have had this blog I have done a round up of the past year, and I’m not about to break with tradition.

At first when I think of 2010 I draw an utter* blank. Did anything actually happen? I am a dull seamonkey, after all. Thankfully there is a blog to draw from to remind me that some stuff did happen this year. For instance:

  • I turned 30. It was traumatic to say the least, but I made it to the other side. I am now “a grown up.” Hahaha what a joker I am :)
  • I celebrated 10 years with my BFG, my G-gnome.
  • I passed my driving test. Learning to drive made me utterly* miserable. I got my licence in September, so there was a black cloud lurking over my days for much of the year.
  • I witnessed the wobbling-bums-forgot-your-skirt fashion trend and survived.
  • Watched the World Cup 2010 unfold in my home country, from afar, and felt sad and utterly* over the top excited at the same time. Was bursting with some kind of burstful emotion the entire time.
  • I made noise from a vuvuzela for the first time.
  • I voted for the first time, and learned an obvious lesson about politics. Politicians will say whatever they want to get votes, and do whatever they want when they are in power. Obvious, yes, but for a party that based its entire campaign on free University tuition (which was the dumbest thing I had ever heard of for a country in a violent recession, but hey), the Lib Dems have no more face to save.
  • I got published for the first time, for something fictional that I wrote. Squee! Well, it actually hasn’t come out yet, I will have to keep you posted on that, but I think it is scheduled for 2010.
  • I survived the blanket safety glass-wearing decree – by not wearing them. Well, I balance them on top of my head, as if I am just at that moment taking a quick eye-strain break. All the time.
  • I read 41 books this year (and counting). Sorry Amazon (rainforest), but I have not converted to a Kindle yet. Amazon (website) must love me.
  • I finally started creeping out of my shell at work, although I am not sure if this is such a good thing. My tongue can be a little too wayward, too loose for my liking. Well, it’s been fun anyway.
  • Also, I did actually do some work, somwhere along the line this year. The first half of the year was hectic, with me working like a small beaver to make up for my usual “nothing is working” start to the year. Now things have wound down considerably, which is good, because I am a zombie at this present time.

The best music I discovered this year was Arcade Fire’s album The Suburbs, and the most interesting band I discovered this year is Foals, a band out of Oxford, with a gritty Coldplay-like sound.

I also saw Pearl Jam live in Hyde Park. Legendary.

The best book I read this year is The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver.

The best movie I saw this year is Winter’s Bone.

The coolest place I visited this year was Nieu Bethesda (and the Owl House) in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. I will have been to South Africa, Dubai, and Brazil (crazy UK weather permitting!)  this year.

When I put it like that, it was a big year!

I usually sum up the bad things and rather inadequate things that happened each year, but this year I will leave you with just the highlights. That way you will think I am an interesting person with a life.  For the truth, keep an eye on Wikileaks ;)

* It appears the word for 2010 is “utterly.” I utterly used it too many times in this post. I am utterly sorry.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 09:00:15

    That is a big year. An utterly big one!

    Reply

  2. Po
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 09:05:41

    Helen: Heehee utterly true ;)

    Reply

  3. Damaria Senne
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 10:35:21

    he he! Next thing you know, people will be finding this site when they search for “utterly” on Google.
    Sounds like you had a a good year overall.

    Reply

  4. Dora
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 14:39:18

    Whoa…look the new look! Looking forward to more about your published work! *utterly* superb! :)

    Reply

  5. Po
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 21:08:40

    Damaria: there is this brand of marge in the UK called Utterly Butterly, which is a terrible name but anyhoo, maybe I should get sponsorship :) I guess when I blog about the year like that it sounds good, but it is a list of only the good. The usual hecticness and bad stuff is better forgotten. As if that were possible. Sigh.
    .
    Dora: I hope the published thing comes to pass! Ha maybe i should have waited until it was in my hands before saying anything. But I am like 90% certain it’s happening, and soon.

    Reply

  6. tiah
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 16:48:37

    I am so looking forward to your story! And getting that driving licence is a huge accomplishment. The UK test is brutal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

