Snow.

I don’t think I have ever seen my little town look as beautiful as it did this weekend. Pity my picture-taking skills don’t do it justice.

12 cm of dry, powdery snow (I measured, with my hand). This is the most snow I have ever seen in this town. Actually it is the most I have ever seen.

Um. Where are my feet?



The ice on our canal was so thick, I skated on it (in my boots).

I think  I had the best weekend ever. Snow melts my heart and turns me into a joyful child. The beauty also breaks my heart though, because you know it will soon melt away. But I’ll always remember it.

:)

I wonder if we will make it to Brazil?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 08:34:05

    Beautiful pics! I know snow is a pain for those that deal with it all the time. But for somebody who was 12 the first time she saw the white stuff fall from the sky, snow gives me a special glee each and every time.

    Reply

  2. Damaria Senne
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 09:04:30

    the pics capture the environment beautifully. but damn! that looks cold:-)

    Reply

  3. Shannon
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 09:39:40

    I love snow, even after seven years of living in the stuff–it’s still magical. But I confess to feeling slightly less benevolent towards it today–I am supposed to fly tonight to Philadelphia for Christmas and I am routed through Amsterdam, and with all the winter storms I have premonitions of spending Christmas in the Amsterdam airport.

    Reply

  4. Po
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 19:48:13

    Tiah: well I guess I saw it fall from the sky for the first time when I was 3, and am watching it right now, I can never take my eyes off it! I still rememberwatching American movies at Christmas about some kid in some hot state (California maybe?) hoping and praying for a white Christmas, and of course, by the end he got it. And there was me, in tropical Durban, in midsummer, thinking, well, maybe just maye….. um no. So I really appreciate it now!

    Damaria: actually when it snows it warms up alot. The day after the snow was so cooooold, too cold to snow, you need warmer temps for the snow. If, erm you can call this warm?

    Shannon: oh noooo, sorry! Europe is mayhem! They just can’t deal with this stuff. Heathrow is flying some planes though. I am supposd to fly to Brazil on Saturday, but it’s not the end of the world if I don’t go, not like seeing family. I hope you get home:

    Reply

  5. Helen
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 11:13:32

    It’s so pretty! I only saw snow once when it fell on Joburg in a weird freak storm a few years ago, but it wasn’t much. I usually go to the UK in December and ALWAYS miss the snow by a few days. It’s on my bucket-list though! Why no pictures of canal-skating though? It sounds like a fun new sport!

    Reply

  6. Dora
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:58:34

    Wooo! Fantastic! I hate the cold, but as long as there is snow, then it’s worth it. :)

    A friend of mine who was supposed to be back yesterday encountered hell in Heathrow. She’s retreated back to Canterbury now and won’t be back till after Christmas. I say, yeah, whatever, I bet Canterbury is absolutely stunning in the snow. ;)

    Reply

  7. Po
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 19:55:17

    Helen: you want me to freeze you some? I can bring it over next time I am in SA :) When I first got to the UK, I did that, I froze the snow because I was so amazed and in awe that it even existed. It snowed alot again today, but I have to admit I started hating on it, just a bit, because I had to go out and fetch dry ice from outside… brrr.

    Dora: well, I loved Canterbury, worked on farms near there when I first got the UK, it’s a really special city, I remember you posted about visiting there! I think it must look spectacular in the snow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

