The cup that says "no".

A while ago, in this post here, I wrote about training men and how it was possible, if you were creative.

I have to take it back and I have to hang my head in shame.

I wrote how we had a problem tap that was about to break and in order to avoid waiting months for the inhouse plumber, I decided to ban the use of the tap. The BFG just could not grasp the concept of the word “ban” and so I had to resort to this:

I wrote the word “no” on a measuring cup and put it on the tap. The tap was never used again.

UNTIL NOW!

The other day my sister and I were unpacking shopping in our tiny kitchen. Apparently, allegedly I should say, the BFG was suffering from a thirst so bad, so life-threatening, that he could not even open his mouth to say “make way, need water!” and ask us to move so he could get to the kitchen tap. Nor could he wait the one whole minute it took us to unpack.

No. Oh no. I walked into the bathroom (see we were done even while he was committing the crime) to find him drinking from the  “no” tap.

He drank from the “no” tap.

But it doesn’t end there.

He was drinking from the cup that says no.


The cup that has “no” written on it in big black marker.

It sounds like some kind of Matrix or Alice in Wonderland dilemma. In case you are slow to catch on, he chose the WRONG cup to be drinking from.

He then tried to argue thatI was overreacting because the tap was fine. This while the tap was dripping away.

You can’t train men. It’s impossible.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 08:03:22

    I suspect he knew, but just wanted your attention.

    Reply

  2. Helen
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 08:51:08

    Wow, that’s pretty amazing rule-breaking going on there! I guess we could always resort to electric-shock collars?

    Reply

  3. Po
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 08:54:04

    Tiah: he was being baaaad, he was a bit grumpy cos he couldn’t get his water immediately so he went all defiant, like really, this ban rule is just silly… I could see it on his defiant little face. Baaaad BFG. Bad.

    Helen: mwahahahahaha I could get one of those mosquito zapping things!

    Reply

  4. Kirsty
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 09:08:53

    Haha this is like a reinvention of the Knights that say Ni! I love it!

    Reply

  5. Damaria Senne
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 10:15:03

    he he he he! So now, do you add “Hell” to the wording on the cup? Do you think that will push BFG training to the next level?

    Reply

  6. Spear The Almighty
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 11:06:25

    But he was thirsty. Don’t you understand? Women…

    :)

    Reply

  7. Louisa
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 18:53:54

    Hahahahaha! love that cup…

    Maybe he’s not well trained…or maybe he’s a bit of a rebel? ;-)

    Reply

  8. Champagne Heathen
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 00:21:23

    Ha ha ha ha! Good form BFG – sounds like the man living in my house!

    What I recommend writing on the cup is:
    “Tap Water? Or Sex?”

    Reply

  9. Po
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:11:57

    Champs, oh my word but that is just brilliant! To be honest though, I tried this trick once before… and nada. Didn’t work.

    Reply

  10. Tamara
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:32:33

    Wahahaha… Mosquito zapper thingey might do the job :-)

    Reply

  11. Dora
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 16:00:27

    It’s the Man-Thirst. You know, like the Man-Flu.

    Reply

  12. Po
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 17:52:11

    Tamara: we saw them all over Brazil, damn why didn’t I get one!
    Dora: whahahaha that is so classic. I have to tell him that one, he will laugh.

    He laughed!

    Reply

  13. Paula
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 18:33:36

    lol maybe line the cup with that nasty quit-biting-your-nails paste that tastes rank?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

