Where I blatantly blow my own vuvuzela.

Last year I started writing a post about literary journals, and how, if you want to be a writer, or if you are one, you should be reading and subscribing to at least one literary journal, because these are the places where writers are born and bred. They keep the art of writing alive.

Then a few months ago I found out that one of these journals was going to publish a story of mine,  and I was very excited, but then I realised that the above post would look horribly self-serving.

So instead I am going to be blatantly self-serving, and say, you have to go out and buy the latest edition (issue 9) of Wordsetc, a South African literary journal. It should be in most major book stores in SA as far as I know. I think you can subscribe if you are overseas too.

And the reason you should go and buy it is because it is an excellent journal… and because it has something written by me inside!

There, ok, I blew my own vuvuzela. And I apologise, but I am actually proud of what I wrote, which is rare. Most of the stuff I write would embarrass a 15 year old.

For some reason I do feel proud of this particular thing. I wrote it for one of my writing classes, under the title “experimental”, just after listening to the song, “Violet Hill” by Coldplay.  I had no idea what it was about, and I finished it by that evening. I barely edited it after that. And even after reading it a year or so later, I liked it. I liked something that I had written. That may sound arrogant, but usually when I read things I have written, I cringe.

Of course, I haven’t read it since then, so it is possible it is still highly cringe-worthy. Oh dear. I think I will avoid actually reading the thing ever again, just in case.

So I decided to go for it and try to publish it and the editor of Wordsetc so kindly took it on, even though I am not currently in South Africa at all. And I am so grateful.

Literary journals are where aspiring writers start out. They don’t get paid for their writing, the only payment is the pleasure of writing and being published. And of course, other people enjoying their work. In South Africa especially, there is very little money in any art form, and if people don’t support the arts financially, then they will die. And that would be a tragedy. A country needs art to elevate its’ soul from the terrifying mundanity of every-day routine.

That is the kind of  pretentious stuff I was going to say in the first place, but of course now I just want everyone to go and read my thing :)

P.S. if you do, you will see my real name there, and also a photograph (I apologise for any shock you may experience after seeing my face, yes I always look that scary). Most people in my real life have no idea about this blog, and so if you do find out my real identity I ask that you don’t connect it with the blog. I like my little corner of anonymity. Here I can be as silly as I am serious in my other life. Here I can be a seamonkey in peace.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 08:44:31

    congratulations! I’ll keep an eye out for it!

    Reply

  2. tiah
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 10:00:27

    I am so excited for you – and will be checking my post box more regularly this week and next!

    Reply

  3. Damaria Senne
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 05:56:33

    Congratulations!

    Why are you embarassed for blowing your own vuvuzela? Never mind. Here, give it to me. I’ll blow it for you.

    http://damariasenne.blogspot.com/2011/02/congratulations-to-some-writing-friends.html

    Reply

  4. Tamara
    Feb 24, 2011 @ 09:48:48

    Well done, you! I will have to pick up a copy.

    Reply

  5. Dora
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 14:19:55

    Well done you! Now if only I could get a copy!

    I like your saying that aspiring writers should be reading a literary journal. Don’t think anyone ever told me that. I always meant to write more, I was even in a writing class in London, but “everything else” seems to get in the way. Maybe I should start by reading. :)

    Reply

  6. Paula
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 18:28:23

    oooooooh Congratulations! What a spot of fantastic indaba!

    Reply

  7. Po
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 18:44:27

    Thank you all you darling bloggy friends!

    Reply

  8. Po
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 20:53:44

    P.S. Dora I think it is really important to read the stuff that is getting published so you have an idea of standards and what is out there. Andyou should just go for it and try to publish something. Hahaha I crack myself up, handing out advice after just one published story. But that is the advice my writing class teacher gave. Luckily there are loads of online journals these days, but there is something so awesome about hard copy. I’m old school.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

