Talent

Warning: music video post. I know some people have trouble playing my music video links. And who has the time to watch them anyway? But you should, says Po the music doctor.

Did anyone watch the Brit Music awards? Nah, me niether. Obviously. I have no TV. However I came across this performance by Adele which stopped me in my tracks. Her songs are not my kind of music, they’re too direct and too soulful. I’m more into oblique lyrics that let your imagination run wild, and indie beats.

However, no matter what your music taste, could you deny that this performance was incredible?

She writes her own songs. She’s only 22 years old. She already has a Grammy from her previous album with that Chasing Pavements song (not my thing).

She wrote this song when she was 16:

This may not be the type of thing I usually listen to but I’m pretty blown away by this woman’s talent. And grateful that people like her still exist despite the musical black holes of X factor and Pop Idol.

Mostly I just feel insanely jealous. I don’t have the maturity to write now what she wrote at 16. I want raw, overflowing talent too!

Sickening. The quality of British musical talent out there is on a level all of it’s own, if you ask this unmusical, unbiased Saffa chick.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paula
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 10:47:05

    Agreed. Totally.

    Reply

  2. Tamara
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:43:23

    That talented person is the same one who sings the awful chasing pavements song? Wow.

    Reply

  3. Po
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 16:22:56

    haha Tamara, I did not dig that song either. Actually I really just like these live performance versions of her songs, luckily they sell those on iTunes!

    Paula: my dear you have excellent taste:)

    Reply

  4. Helen
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 16:34:13

    Wow she has a really amazing and powerful voice, I hope she can avoid training it too much, I like the raw emotion in there.

    And don’t lynch me but I kind of liked chasing pavements…

    Reply

  5. Po
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 19:38:03

    Helen: my lynch mob is on lunch break, so I may just let you go this time ;)

    Reply

  6. Dora
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 00:53:46

    James Corden was spot on. That Someone Like You song, the lyrics and that voice, is possibly the worst song you could listen to when you’re heartbroken!

    It IS such a beautiful performance and I just sat here listening to it again and again! Thanks for sharing.

    (And to contribute my bit, I thought Chasing Pavements was pretty average too.)

    Reply

  7. Posky
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 05:02:48

    Wow, that was good. I’m glad I came across your blog (and that video) entirely by accident.

    The lyrics were a bit of a downer though. It makes me wonder how many people have felt like that. She’s a powerful singer and I hope to see more of her. She’s not yet blipped on our radar over here in the US.

    Reply

  8. Po
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 08:50:21

    Dora: I know, too much heartbrokenness, I kind of feel bad sharing it actually!

    Howdy Posky, it’s weird that you say that, seeing as she has Grammy. But I guess she isn’t mainstream over there yet.

    I have this feelin that even if you haven’t felt exactly that way before, you can tap into the pain of that song.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

