Big Brother

I’ve been missing blogging. It’s so gloriously inwardly focussed, so navel-gazingly self-absorbed, and that’s how I am, so I need to try and resume.

I hid my previous post because it is too depressing to be greeted with that every time you come over here.

So to try and kickstart my blogging addiction, here is a random thought that crossed my mind.

In the old days, people kept a lot of stuff to themselves. That art has been lost with social media, but I think that most people still self-edit to some  (perhaps minor) degree on Facebook and even on blogs. Your boss could be your Friend, or you could have friends who are their Friends, etc, so you don’t generally go on about your awful boss on Facebook unless you are dumb. And people do rant on blogs but they usually use pseudonyms, or are dumb.

But Twitter is different. Many people tweet anonymously and can rant about bosses at will. Other people tweet as themselves but still write down a lot of things that once used to remain in the realm of “thoughts” for oneself only, or for people very close to you.

Basically, now anyone can have access to your thoughts, and if you use Foursquare, your whereabouts.

These social media tools have been really useful to subvert opressive governments and spread awareness and small revolutions. The spread of information is so rapid and uncontrolled now that our world has drastically changed and no one really knows what to do about it yet.

But on the flip side, governments can now access your thoughts and your every move. Ever read the book 1984? Thought crimes?

Cue ominous Jaws music.

If your government wants to it can now pretty much know whatever you are thinking and where you are. Pretty freaky huh?Instead of banning these things, China should be actively encouraging them.

Use it, don’t use it.  Just remember, Big Brother is watching you.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 09:24:08

    Welcome back! You have been missed. (But you already knew I was thinking that, right?)

    Reply

  2. Spear The Mighty
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 11:08:13

    Glad to have you back. I edit a lot about what I want to say because most people I know read my blog. For one I know my parents do.

    Reply

  3. Damaria Senne
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:55:08

    Yes, welcome back. Misssed you. As for the issue Big Brother, I console myself with the fact that I’m too boring for Big Brother to be interested in me or my thoughts. And yes, I do self-edit when it comes to family, friends or clients. But then, I self-edit quite a lot in in-person conversation too, so my use of social media reflects that character trait.

    Reply

  4. Vanessa
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 15:28:25

    Blogging is so wonderfully self-absorbed! Its awesomely awesome :) I’m not too worried about “Big brother”. I don’t say anything interesting enough when I blog. Its just a good way to try and deal with stuff. Glad you’re back. I started reading and then you stopped posting. I was heartbroken… ;)

    Reply

  5. po
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 15:36:28

    Yay thanks guys, I feel like maybe I have stuff to blather on about again!

    Reply

  6. Reluctant Mom
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 17:03:58

    My husband asked me last week if I would consider micro-chipping our children so we could track them.

    And it just made me uncomfortable and I thought of 1984 ….. and though I could reason that anyone will know where they are if they are on Twitter/Facebook or what ever else when they are a bit bigger, it still made me feel uneasy.

    Maybe the idea of the “sign of beast” from Revelations did not help me either.

    Big Brother is watching you…but who is watching Big Brother?

    Reply

  7. Damaria Senne
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 17:30:15

    @Reluctant Mom – I probably would have micro-chipped Baby from when she was an infant if I could have. I realise that there are privacy issues, but I think safety reasons are compelling enough for me.

    Reply

  8. Helen
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 11:09:39

    my parents track me (and I’m 26) using my car tracker and a phone application. I HATE it. Because safety first means to use it in case of emergency, not as a matter of course. And of course while we may have nothing to hide, Big Brother in any form makes me crabby and uncomfortable.

    Ever think that we’re so trackable because we choose to be? These government folks are clever…

    Glad to have you back, I missed your writing!

    Reply

  9. dora
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 10:37:08

    Glad you’re back.

    Sometimes, I’m tempted to test Big Brother. I always wonder what would happen if I start writing some really anti-China stuff on my blog and in my emails. Will I be banned from visiting China?

    But my love of travel reigns me in. Although I rarely visit, I CAN’T let myself be banned from that vast land for just an experiment!

    Reply

  10. Tara
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 10:55:07

    Bout time you came back.

    Well you know I’ve had words come back and bite me in the ass but I don’t actually regret them being out there. That being said, I have become really terrible at updating anything lately. Facebook, Twitter, the blog, foursquare …it all just slips my mind. So, not really the most trackable person on the planet.

    Oh wait…you know what I’m reading :( THE END IS NIGH

    Reply

  11. po
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:10:29

    Looool I do in fact know what you read, and so, more importantly, does the FBI!!! I heard when I was young that the FBI kept tabs on people who read the Catcher in the Rye more than once, cos of it’s link to a crazed shooter, and since I had read it about 4 times I imagined them tracking me. How naive though, cos many Americans don’t even know that a country called South Africa exists. I don’t think the FBI cared about South African crazy people. I think I was safe taking it out from my little Westville library.

    Reply

  12. po
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 11:10:59

    Looool I do in fact know what you read, and so, more importantly, does the FBI!!! I heard when I was young that the FBI kept tabs on people who read the Catcher in the Rye more than once, cos of its link to a crazed shooter, and since I had read it about 4 times I imagined them tracking me. How naive though, cos many Americans don’t even know that a country called South Africa exists. I don’t think the FBI cared about South African crazy people. I think I was safe taking it out from my little Westville library.

    Reply

  13. daisyfae
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 02:47:39

    Hi, Po! Agree that to some degree we are giving away our brains, unfiltered, through all of our lovely social media outlets. You’d think with all of the ‘brain’ out there, society would be advancing. But instead, we get a lot of cute kitten videos, snarky political commentary, and photos or what we had for breakfast.

    on the up side? the world sure gets flat quickly when you discover someone half a world away is dealing with the same ‘stuff’ you are…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

