I am really into cars.

There are a few (major) glitches with my new blog, like it didn’t import any videos, and I have to redo my sidebar, but anyway, I am here now.  Goodday, howzit and welcome.

I often blog about the more embarrasing moments in the life of my BFG, so it is only fair that I blog about the colossal FAIL moment that I had yesterday. First though, my defence.

Firstly, I was hormonally challenged. I had a severe case of the brain fog, felt slightly drunk, and if you had asked me my name, it is possible I would have come up with a blank.

Secondly, even on the best of days, cars mean nothing to me. After  a year of driving lessons, someone asked me what kind of car my instructor had. I had no idea. Not even what colour it was. It’s like I don’t even see them. They do not register upon my brain. I do however have quite a good memory for cars if you happen to drive an older French model, because they have the most uncomfortable seats known to man, and it is no surprise that the Hunchback of Notre Dame was French, because from their car seats I can only conclude that all French people are hunchbacks.

But apart from that, I do not have a clue what car is what. I used to know the symbols for the makes that were common in South Africa, but the cars are all different here and I have forgotten the symbols I knew and the other ones confuse me.

Thirdly, I am a bit slow.

So anway, the BFG and I were walking home, and I saw this awesome car with a British flag paint job.

Po: what kind of car is that?

BFG: A TT.

Po: and that is a what?

BFG: An Audi.

Po: Aha, so the three circles in a row is the Audi symbol.

I strain through my brain fog but I can’t think straight.

Po: So what is the three and then two circles, is that Mercedes?

BFG: no, Mercedes is the circle with the three-way split. A bit like the peace sign, but posher.

Po:  oh yes, of course, I knew that. So is it BMW that has the three and then the two circles?

BFG: (so patient) no, BMW has the 4 checks within a circle (please note I am using Google to check the symbols as I write, at the time all I heard BFG saying was, no, BMW has wah wah wah wah.)

Po: So what is the car that has the three circles on the top and then two below it?

BFG: That is the OLYMPICS.

And indeed, indeed it is.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barryatthejcsenne
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 11:12:56

    ROFLMAO! Oh, I just love the punch line. Sorry, I realise it didn’t start out as a joke and you really wanted to know, but the OLYMPICS? Oi! Even I know how that looks like… though like you, cars are cars and I have been known to say… “I’m not sure what kind of car it was, but I think it was gray? Or was it blue?”

    Reply

  2. tiah
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 13:58:44

    :-)

    Reply

  3. poseamonkey
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 16:09:03

    hahahahaha yes very funny. I could not stop laughing. At myself. I should probably be worried though, about brain degeneration or something.

    Hahahaha still can’t stop laughing :)

    Reply

  4. Tara
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 10:04:59

    I’m going to start you on car lessons if you’re this bad now ;)

    Wheee and linky dink updated too.

    Reply

  5. poseamonkey
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 16:58:46

    Yay Tara, thanks for moving with me. I think this post proves that there is no hope for me when it comes to cars. No hope at all. Don’t even bother.

    Reply

  6. Vanessa
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 19:32:01

    haha! I suffer from the same mental ‘fog’ sometimes. The things I’ve said. Makes me blush thinking of it (I once told some guy I had a hole in my bum” -we were on a field trip and thorns had just ripped a hole into my pants. The guy smirked at me. It was so embarrasing. )

    Reply

  7. paulabubble
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 17:54:45

    Wahahahahaha! You and I rock the same boat. My sister and I were in the car the other day, my window was rolled down and

    She: That guy in the Volvo should not be happy- he’s in a Volvo.
    Me: I like volvo’s they are such sexy cars
    She: Not that Volvo
    Me: What Volvo?
    She: The car right next to us
    Me: Oh no, that car is ugly. I mean the one in Twilight- the 4×4. That one over there.
    She: that’s a Toyota

    I’m worse than pathetic at cars. Even the vintage cars i like are vague in terms of the ones i like. The way I don’t care my sisters are picking my first car my only proviso was that it should be small and cheap on fuel and not have an ugly bum. HAHAHAHA.

    Except mines not a mental fog. Its a wonderful apathy which i enjoy. There are much bigger things in life to care about than cars.

    Although there are matte cars roaming jhb that i like. They look like Bat mobiles. Very hawt.

    Reply

  8. paulabubble
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 17:55:48

    I was so scared when I read the title. My mind was like… how am I going to understand this post? lol glad I read it anyway :D

    Reply

  9. paulabubble
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 17:56:51

    okay I’m going to look like an over-commenter but I just saw your pictures- have you watched Spirited Away?

    Reply

  10. Po
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 20:13:40

    Vanessa: wahahaha that is pretty funny! But I think I may have said worse in my time.

    Paula: well, I still win the prize for the dumbest thing ever said, I think. You can have the silver ;) I freaking loved Sprited Away, my BFG and I have watched it many times. I love most of the studio Ghibli movies, Nausicaa, Totoro, Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke are my favourite. I just bought myself a Totoro necklace, it is the coolest thing you will ever see.

    Reply

  11. Helen
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 08:53:47

    hahahaha that’s awesome! and I’m currently trying to visualise BMW and not winning.

    Reply

  12. poseamonkey
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 11:28:19

    I just need to admit here that the AUdi is actually four circles in a row. I mean, I wrote this post on the same day as seeing the Audi and I still can’t get it right. Hangs head in deepest shame.

    Reply

  13. Tamara
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 09:37:19

    Right, I was about to point out that Audi is four circles :-)

    My family is really into cars. I think I might get disowned if I mixed up badges. Hehe… comes from having a dad who’s a total petrolhead.

    Reply

  14. poseamonkey
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 10:06:37

    Tamara: oh Tamara, I am sure I shock you with my abysmal knowledge of cars. It is a handicap, indeed. Something that I get a lot of astonished looks for. It is something to be astonishing I guess ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

