I live in a hole. But I am not a mole.

Repeat after me:

We are leaving soon, we are leaving soon, we are leaving S~OO~N.

We don’t have a time yet for when we are leaving. It depends on a few things. It’s starting to drive me nuts. My brain is geared to leaving  but we aren’t actually leaving.

I don’t have much to do at work any more. The project I have been working on for the last three years is pretty much at an end. As much as I love my workplace, I am not enjoying being bored and listless and I am noticing a baaaad attitude creeping in. It is definitely time for me to go now.

And then there is our flat, or should I call it, the SHITHOLE. Currently there are the following issues with said hole:

  • there was a flood in the flat above us. This caused the wall paper on our ceiling (why wallpaper, why??) to peel off, revealing a mouldy, yucky gap. We told the agency about this, last year, and they came to look. The gap was duly noted and they never did anything about it.
  • The paint and wood and whatever has totally peeled off our door. It looks like someone attacked it with a pick axe. We told the agency years ago and nothing happened.
  • Our toilet leaked on the weekend and we came home to a sodden carpet (carpet in the bathroom, why, WHY?).
  • We have a broken tap, about which I have blogged many times. It is the tap with a cup saying NO written on it. When the plumber came to fix our toilet (successfully, except now it doesn’t flush properly) he decided to “look at the tap”, broke it, and made it worse. Then didn’t try to fix it. Now it drips constantly.
  • Then he broke the tap for our water mains and our building kind of flooded.
  • Last night our sink got clogged (this is a regular occurrence because they used cheap ass pipes when they built our building and a deposit builds up regularly that has to be cleared with some chemical).
I think the basin incident broke me. I now officially hate where we live so much. I want it to die in a fire. And if our arsonist comes back, that may come true.
I am so over our flat. It really really is a place I am too embarrassed to bring friends to now, but the agency doesn’t seem to care that it looks like a dump, and we don’t want to move until we leave, which is hopefully very SOON.
Oh and a few months ago I stumbled over two guys doing some weird drugs in our stairwell. I actually stumbled right into them. We called the police, but they just called back after an hour, asking “have they gone yet?”. Yes, but no thanks to you!
Sorry. I will miss many things when I leave, but our accommodation won’t be one of them!
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 16:13:05

    That is one very shitty situation.

    Reply

  2. Helen
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 09:55:54

    carpet in bathroom *shudder* that would have chased me back to Africa a long time ago!

    Reply

  3. Tamara
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 11:22:51

    Carpet in the bathroom?!

    Wow. Your plumber sounds like a winner, Po.

    The fact that you’re bored at work and your flat sucks will make it easier to leave, I guess (trying hard to find some sort of silver lining here). Sounds kak though. Sorry :-(

    Reply

  4. poseamonkey
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 12:07:28

    Argh, wejust found out that they, and by they I hope they mean plumbers who can actually fix something, can only come and fix our water mains next Thursday! Which means we have to keep our water switched off for a week, except for when we really need it, and we will have to cope with a constantly flooding balcony until then. Fun.

    Dudes, like all bathrooms have carpets here. It is so so gross. But the worst thing I ever saw, luckily only in one house, was carpet in the kitchen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

