Mercury hates me.

*

I guess it may be too early to start summing up years and all that, but this has been a spectacularly bad year for me in terms of human, social communication.

I’m left thinking, what went wrong?

I remember reading  about the effects of Mercury Retrograde, where a few times a year Mercury appears to move backwards in relation to earth rather than forwards, due to some or other effect.

Apparently at these times communication just melts down in all spheres of life. There should really be a warning about these things!

And if I look back to the maddest times this year, they do kind of correlate to Mercury Retrograde, but the thing is, not quite.

Perhaps some miscommunication started in a retrograde, sometimes it came to an end during that time, sometimes it was kind of just after.

Hmmmm.

I am grasping at straws here because if you don’t believe that the planets affect human lives, then well, the only other common denominator in this equation is me.

Why do I suck so much?! Am I really only fit to be a hermit in Namibia? It does sound really appealing to me right now, I admit.

I have good intentions, but so did George Bush, in his mind anyway. Good intentions are of no comfort to anyone.

I guess I probably need to figure out what goes wrong when I attempt to interact with the human race. It sounds like hard work. I am tempted to just run away and hide instead.

Music that eases my startled brainwaves right now:

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 11:49:14

    My ex-boss used that line a lot. Whenever something went wrong with communications she’d say, “Mercury must be in retrograde!”

    And I don’t think it’s you, Po. I think most of us have good intentions. Some of the time they work out, sometimes not. Some people are just better at blocking out the effects of their actions and shunning any responsibility. Others try to take responsibility not only for their own actions, but for the reactions of others too.

    Reply

  2. Tamara
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 11:49:48

    I have no idea if that made any sense. It did in my head, but that doesn’t mean very much!

    Reply

  3. poseamonkey
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 14:23:50

    It makes sense to me! Half the time I blame myself for everything, half the time I blame Mercury.

    Reply

  4. paula
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 15:33:34

    Well it could be the awesomesome-suck equation. It works like the push-pull thing (crap I think it was someone really smarts third theory or law in – crumbs- some science/maths related something that I can’t for the life of me remember – I’ve never been a good nerd: my airheadedness makes me forget the most important bits) .

    Anyway within the push-pull thingy works that if a force is exerted on something an equal backward/opposing force is exerted. So seeing as this is an inner war with your self like sucking (because outside reflects inside), by deduction we can say that this is your inner-awesome reckoning with the third law so you are inner-sucking.

    So, you can also by deduction also come to the correct conclusion of your degree of awesome, based on your degree of suckation.

    (silver lining)

    I like your planet theory though. Is there one for like, really dumb decision making?

    I agree with Tamara though, so I’m gunna “what she said” this comment on the post, on an emotive friendly level.

    about the (whispered) other thing. It’s shut down- my screen diet is going very well but because of it I can only allot a certain ammount of time to certain things and I would spend literally 75% of my two hours on it, EVERYDAY… despite trying otherwise. Its like I couldn’t resist it. BLEGH

    Upside: I have a personality in real life too, and progress – she be good!!!

    Reply

  5. Spear The Mighty
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 07:25:41

    We all have our sucky times. :) Things will look up soon enough.

    Reply

  6. poseamonkey
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 10:08:21

    Paula: wow, your suckaion theory sounds like personality physics or something! You should take that theory further ;)

    I understand about monitoring your screen useage, I have major issues in that regard. You are stronger than me.

    Spear: thanks dude, I already feel loads better after my time off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

