Hand me my unicycle.

Cool new Coldplay video shot in South Africa. I totally identify with that elephant. I am that elephant. Give me a few months, and I will be donning my elephant suit.

 

I have friends claiming to be in this video. Pixel 2345 across and 5678 down… Tamara, do you want to stake a claim too?

*

Speaking about cool South African stuff, I just finished a book called Wall of Days by an evil South African who moved to the UK like me, called Alastair Bruce, but who never donned the elephant suit and went back.

It is however, very good. It is dystopian and set in a time and place not related to here or now. But the things it deals with, guilt, forgetting, history and how we rewrite it, these are always relevant.

It is about a man, an important man who has been banished from his settlement and has been living for ten years on a tiny island. Why he had to leave is slowly revealed.

I have seen his style compared to J.M. Coetzee, but don’t let that put you off, it is not a clinical, stark book that reads like a vulture picked it dry (like Coetzee’s books). The style is plain but the prose is easy to read and descriptive.

I recommend! If you like that sort of thing.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 11:29:44

    Makes sense… you, elephants and dassies (seeing they are closely related).

    Haha… I am definitely not in that video – not even the most fabulous zoom lens would reach where we were sitting ;-)

    Reply

  2. seamonkeypo
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 11:48:09

    Tamara: hectic, ~I never even thought of that! It is fate :)

    Reply

  3. tiah
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 12:09:45

    Like a vulture picked it dry….

    I’m not going to be able to get that out of my head.

    Reply

  4. tiah
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 14:25:42

    btw – is it wrong that I watch this and start humming ‘Nellie the Elephant’?

    Reply

  5. Prixie
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 05:55:16

    This video made me miss London even more, but it also made me strangely proud to see Cape Town and Johannesburg…

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 09:37:23

    Pick me! I was there! on the grass next to the portaloos… look out for P1’s lumo-cable-tie bedecked sling (he insisted on going to coldpay 5 days after the shoulder-op, so I made sure nobody could get within 30cm of his sling)

    Reply

  7. seamonkeypo
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 10:19:41

    Tiah: noooooo now you got that song in my head. It complements the para para para quite well ;)

    Prixie: well, as for me, it makes me want to jump on the next plane and get on my unicycle… I might have to learn how to ride one first!

    Helen: oooook I am going to need a time frame here to pin point you too :) I tried to find my friend but it wasn’t happening.

    Reply

  8. Spear The Mighty
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 08:45:58

    I think I might give it a read.

    Reply

  9. Nes
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 19:46:13

    I wanted to jump up and down when I saw that you posted the music video. How cool is it? I am so in love with that song. And it makes me soooooo happy because i think of the concert (yes I was there, right at the back). Now I have an official music video to remind me of my first big concert, exciting times :)

    Reply

  10. seamonkeypo
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 12:33:59

    Nes: can I see you?! If you give me a time coordinate? This song makes me happy too, with its bizarre words and video. It’s like a chemical reaction in the brain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

