The blood type pseudo diet.

I don’t want to offend anyone with my blog posts, actually I have a terror of offending people, but I know that occasionally, very rarely, something, some topic blows a fuse in my mind and my usual tolerant laid back self goes UH UH! I cannot deal! And then I rant on here. In a possibly offensive way.

So, does anyone believe in or follow the blood type diet?

My mom, the BFG’s mom, my aunt, hell every female of that age who I am vaguely related to, believes wholeheartedly in this bloody (scuse the pun) diet.

Here is a weird thing, all of the people who keep going on to me (and I mean constantly. I don’t think I can stand to hear about it for much longer) about this diet…. are fat. So why the hell is it so amazing then? Ok, fine if it is a diet for optimum health, then I cannot argue, because fat people are healthy too, but come on, women buy diet books to get thin. Let’s not lie to ourselves  here.

So according to this diet, what you should eat is based on what blood type you are.

Let us just clarify, your blood type determines what antigens you will have on your red blood cells. They are not involved in digestion at all. Digestion does not occur in your blood stream. Digestion occurs in your stomach and intestines. Once your food is already digested the molecules eventually enter your blood stream.

So this diet claims that certain foods have certain proteins that will coagulate certain blood types. It sounds feasible right, except that it is not true, not when an actual test is done on the foods this man claims. Your blood does not coagulate multiple times a day. You would be very dead if it did.

It also claims that the reason what we need to eat is linked to our blood type is because of evolution. The O type, in his book, evolved first in times when we ate a lot of meat. The As developed in times and areas of predominantly plant-based diets.

Sadly, this is completely untrue, as the A blood type evolved first. Unfortunately, my mother, the BFG’s mother, and all the other people who command me to follow this diet, have never  looked this up or tried to understand what it means.

The man who made up this diet never did a single study, not one, to test his theories. He made it up and made it sound good. He used pseudoscience. He did it to make money. That is all there is to it.

He calls himself a “naturopath”. Now this is where we learn the true power of words over us.

The reason all those ladies want to believe in this diet, is because of the word “natural”. This word is one of the most dangerous, redundant and also, if you stop to really think about it, meaningless words in English.

What does it really mean? From nature? Not man-made? Not very man-made?

Humans are from nature. We are “natural”. But what we make seems not to fall under that list. So according to all the people who only want “natural products”, we should all be living in caves still.  Spoons are not natural, toilet paper is not natural. The problem is, how far back do you go to define “natural”? If a cave man carves a stone into an implement, I assume that stone is no longer “natural”.

Essentially it is a word that has no actual, precise definition that we all know. But it has been used to hurt homosexuals, transexuals, hermaphrodites, scientists, and every day consumers who are fooled and tricked out of their money by this ridiculous word.

Cow milk is “natural”. However, some people are allergic to cow milk. So natural is not always good? Some people are allergic to wheat. Is wheat natural? If some people eat nuts they will die.

Some people need to inject insulin to live. Insulin is natural right, even if it is manufactured in bacteria, or a test tube or whatever? Or is it? It is being manufactured by humans in an environment that does normally contain insulin. It isn’t natural for a bacterium to produce insulin. But this insulin helps people to live, even if it is not “natural”.

The word is ridiculous. But it is a religion.

But my mom does not trust science, she is afraid of science. So she believes whatever anyone who attaches the word “natural” to anything says. Without in any way actually researching the claims they make or understanding them.

This kinda terrifies me! People, we need to question! Always question. Never blindly accept things people tell you in any sphere of life. But especially health matters.

It confuses me as to why so many people, especially women, are so afraid of science and what scientists refer to as “facts”, like the fact that your blood type is not involved in digestion. I tried to point out to my mom that things like enzymes, which ARE involved, come in many variants, including variants that cannot digest milk products, which is why some people are lactose intolerant. This is a simple fact that is well studied, and well published. Why is she afraid of that?

My only conclusion is because scientists make mistakes. The thing is, lawyers make mistakes, and doctors and nurses and cleaners and accountants and Wall Street investors. That does not mean we should necessarily distrust the entire profession and disregard everything about it. Because the world is not black and white, it is not all or nothing!

We should always remember that people cheat, and lie, and make stuff up.  BUT. Not every scientist makes mistakes or cheats. Most do not. In fact, this may sound spurious but you can trust scientists more than some other professions.

Why? Because there is no money in science. It is as simple as that. There is less incentive to cheat or be bad. Scientists have to compete for grants from research institutes or private companies, this is the only way research can be carried out. It is difficult to get a grant, you really have to justify why your work will benefit someone or something and what exactly you plan to do. And then it is not much money. Scientists’ salaries are much lower than most other professions.

The only way to be considered a “succesful scientist” is to do such good research that you can publish papers in journals. This process is difficult and highly selective. And you do not get paid a cent for doing it. You have to pay.

And even if you are successful, you are not likely to be doing it for the fame. For instance, my boss is a highly succesful scientist in his field. I can guaruntee that nobody I know has ever heard of him or ever will.

On the whole, people choose to do science because they like it or are good at it, because money and fame are not motivators in this profession.

And yes, people lie and cheat and do bad things like fake results. But that does not mean we can never trust science or scientists. There are controls and measures to prevent such things happening, and yes people are wily and can get around them, but the motivation is not as high as in other professions.

Most scientists just want to discover facts and if they are useful to people, then YAY!

So don’t be afraid. However, you should definitely question everything scientists say too. Because you should always question. So go and look for explanations as to why stuff actually happens. Or ask a friendly scientist. Be open to truth and to the potential of something being true. And then question. Don’t blindly mistrust everything because some people make mistakes. That should apply to everything in life. Otherwise you are just schnaaing yourself.

Don’t spend your money on lies and people who are manipulating you, it just makes me sad.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiah
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 13:47:29

    Remember that book I told you about? I maintain that you would really like said book. In fact, I think he briefly addresses this, or a similar ‘eating plan.’

    Reply

  2. poseamonkey
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 14:35:10

    Tiah I was totally thinking about that book and how I am sure it deals with this kind of thing. I have to read it. However it is preaching to the converted! I need my mom to read it, but she is totally closed to science. She told me yesterday that food allergies were in “the mind”. I despair!

    I mean, yes, the placebo effect and even the nocebo effect (where if you are told you are sick and will die, but you aren’t actually sick, you could still die) exist, but as always the world is not black and white and some peoples’ mind are suggestive and some are not. Is she trying to tell me that almost the whole of Asia is lactose intolerant because it is in their minds?? Or AIDS? Hmmmm, we have been down that road before… ARGH.

    Reply

  3. Tamara
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 15:00:49

    Have you read the Bad Science website? http://www.badscience.net/ Love it.

    My father in law is always spouting this kind of crap at me. The last outrageous thing he said to me was that the tides have nothing to do with the moon. ??? There’s no arguing with that kind of statement. I just let him be because I’m tired of wasting energy trying to show him evidence that his opinion might not always be correct.

    Reply

  4. poseamonkey
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 15:50:04

    Looool Tamara I have not heard that one. I am now intrigued to know what does cause tides ;)

    It makes me sad when my mom closes out info, but it probably shouldn’t, she is healthy as far as I know. I mean, trust me I know scientists talk nonsense too, ahem, like this one, but I just can’t see why that would make you close your mind to all of it :(((( But ja, I will get over it!

    Reply

  5. Nes
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 18:45:22

    I loved this post! It made me laugh. My mom is always accusing me of being a (wait for it…) SCIENTIST. See, this is not a good thing. It is a descriptive word to describe people who disagree with her and./or anyone who is realistic and/or questioning and/or don’t believe everything they read.

    Reply

  6. Po
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 19:23:15

    Nes I know it is like a swear word or we belong to a cult! Anyway I don’t consider my self a scientist although I work in science. But there is nothing to be afraid of, most of us don’t eat brainzzzzzzz.

    Reply

  7. paula
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 07:47:22

    OH MY WORD! OH MY WORD!

    I am like, SO, offended.

    I’m lying. I’m all for freedom of choice. What’s life if you can’t rock the boat?

    I just believe the blood type diet lacks imagination. Like I don’t believe a diet falls under umbrella terms. Yes, there can be some indications of what works in terms of diet in your blood type, but to follow a diet purely on blood type alone … well it gives me the grils and makes science sound a wee bit boring if it comes to only one conclusion.

    Is schnaaing a real word? OH MY WORD! I’ve been using it to cuss people out so they don’t know I’m cussing them out. Sorta like using Zulu on English speaking people, just the vice verse. LOL. I am bad. I swear I was a fisherman’s wife in a past life and a dictator in another and then a single child in another.

    I can’t imagine myself as a tree or an animal.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Blood in Crime Scene Investigation |
  9. poseamonkey
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 12:49:20

    Paula: maybe schnaaing comes from naaing? Which is very rude. I dunno, people always used schnaaing so it is in my head. It is such a cool word. Even if is is rude. Hmmmmmm. I can’t say I can imagine you as a tree either, but maybe if you did interpretive dance or something, I remember in Drama class we had to pretend to be a tree, but I always thought it was lame, so I probably did not do a good job.

    Reply

  10. Spear The Mighty
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 09:06:16

    Good to know. Like homeopathy it is complete bollocks.

    Reply

  11. poseamonkey
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 11:18:25

    Spear I have always steered away from homeopathy but some people swear by it. Maybe it is like this blood type diet, if it makes you feel good doing it, then it is good. All in the mind, but good. I just wish people would not buy this guy’s book!

    Reply

  12. poractacuscotts
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 12:25:36

    If your brain was one of those lie detector machines, it would be all over the paper. Nice work! I loved it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

