Goodbye goodbye.

I am not sure who gave permission for Christmas to suddenly be around the corner and work breaking up next week, who when, how did this happen?

Back in July I thought I would be leaving the country around this time, and was already feeling depressed at the thought of saying goodbye to everyone. Well, the saying goodbye part is still happening, but I am not the one leaving! We will have lost three people from our group by early next year.  One of them is leaving in just over a week.

 

:(

 

I am so sad. I have formed these deep attachments to everyone in our group. It is all so sudden. We have all been together so long. I’m not sure if it is normal to mourn the loss of colleagues as much as this, but these are the people I see all day, every day. I love them, I don’t want them to leave!

This end of year time is feeling pretty bleak. People’s parents have died or are sick. There is a lot of sadness permeating this festive season. I am not looking forward to it at all, but I hope that I can find some happiness in amongst all the sadness and the strangeness.

The BFG has finally been given a date for his operation. The NHS lost his details, surprise surprise, but now we know when he will be sliced up.

Of course this means that now we can plot our own departure from the country! I don’t exactly want to bring up the subject yet, I want to give the poor BFG some time to contemplate the operation and recovery, but the fact is, for the first time this whole year, we can actually try to plan something, instead of letting circumstance fling us around!

I need to come to grips with South African tax and how it affects us, getting a bank account, finding accomodation, jobs, flights, and also planning some kind of awesome travelling extravaganza before we settle down to being citizens in a new (but old) place.

 

But these thoughts are for another day. Right now I am contemplating saying goodbyes of my own, and I am feeling gutted already.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Prixie
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 04:20:01

    A very good friend and work colleague resigned recently and I am sad too. Remember you can email me if you need any help!

    Reply

  2. seamonkeypo
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 10:58:40

    Thanks so much Prixie! When we finally decide on a moving day, maybe I will :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

