Holiday fail.

Well, here I am, at work, during our week off, as I said I would be. I am pretty bleak right now because I screwed up my plan to minimise my time at work and now I have to come in tomorow, on a Saturday, New Year’s Eve no less. These damn plants are demanding, I tell you.

I was supposed to wake up at 6.30am today, toddle into work, put my plants that are primed and ready to go on a low salt solution, wait 8 hours, put them on a high salt solution, then leave them til Tuesday when we start work again. But my alarm did not go off! So I will have to do it tomorrow instead. Oh the joys of being a slave to the whims of some leafy shoots.

I never come in on weekends during the year, so it really annoys me that I have to come in during one of the biggest holidays of the year, but the damn plants are ready now, and if I leave them any longer they will be useless and I will have to start again, which could take months…

I am so sick of Oxford right now. I was even here yesterday because we agreed to meet some friends halfway between where they live and where we live. I am like so over the golden stones and the lofty edumacational airs and graces. I just want to stay in bed until 12 and read books. Is that so much to ask?

Anyway, I hope y’all have a more fun New Year’s Eve than me. I will probably be spending it with some wheat seedlings. Party on.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. helen
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 15:37:29

    Happy new year :( I spent easter sunday (which was also my 21st birthday) in the lab, do I feel your pain… I hope the year gets better! I’m going to spend my new years rewriting a thesis: apparently it’s possible to plagiarise YOURSELF and so I must find 5 different ways to say ‘I caught 20 lizards and put them on a treadmill’

    Fun fun times :)

    Reply

  2. poseamonkey
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 16:03:17

    Lol Helen!!! Long time no hear! This situation is all my fault, I forgot to tick the box on my alarm on my fancy phone! What a numbskull. But at least there is loads to do in Oxford, so I can keep myself entertained and the BFG says he will come along too.

    Plagiarise yourself, hmmmm that is a problem indeed haha. How about “20 lizards were trapped and then placed on a treadmill”. “19 + 1 lizards were captured and treadmillized?” Ok I give up :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

