Two thousand and – are we all gonna die?

Did anybody make any kind of resolutions this year? Not me! It has not really hit me yet that this is a new year at all.

I was at work on New Year’s Eve. I was at work every single day last week except for Monday which was a public holiday anyway. I went to bed at 10.30pm on New Year’s Eve. Like a pensioner. I think I require some kind of break from the treadmill of routine for it to register that something is supposed to be different, ie. this is the year when the world ends by fire, or is it ice? I have not seen the movie.

I guess one resolution would be to actually think about my life and take stock and register that it is a new year, rather than just zombying on just because I have not had a holiday.

Another resolution is to read more books than I read last year. I managed 45 in 2011. Here is my list, if anyone is interested.

This year we plan to move back to South Africa. I think I don’t actually need to make any resolutions this year about change or whatnot because that is one huge mega-upheaval right there. I resolve to actually plan and make lists and do things in advance, rather than drown in the tsunami of last-minute stress.

Moving to South Africa also has me thinking what the hell I am going to do with my life. Science is pretty dead-endy, but I would like to try and find a job in the field, preferably pottering around in a lab like I do now. If that fails… then what? Become a teacher? Do a Science Masters? Try to study something else? Try for the Creative Writing Masters again?

ARGH talk about uncertainty.

I also resolve to try and be as nice to people as possible.  And to control and handle the various things that influence my mood as well as possible. There are so many things that make me feel grouchy. It is hard work to moderate them.

It’s so hard being me.

Oh and travelling. I would like to travel somewhere. I have not traveled anywhere since Brazil this time last year. Bleak.

Ok that’s all I got. I should probably be reaching a little higher, but it’s a start. Does anyone have some more inspired ideas and aspirations of what a New Year’s resolution should be? Please tell me yours.

 

I leave you with this poem of awesomeness by Robert Frost:

 

Fire and Ice

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.
7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ttcelebnews
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 09:14:25

    I wish you only the best for this year – world ending or not! I love that poem by Robert Frost!

    Reply

  2. Prixie
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 09:15:39

    Urg, that was me in the above comment (ttcelebnews) I was logged into wordpress for work. fail!

    Reply

  3. seamonkeypo
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 12:56:53

    Haha, I thought I had a new and impressive-sounding fan for a minute. Thank you my dear :)

    Reply

  4. Sid
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 19:37:16

    1) South Africa? Which part of South Africa? Cape Town???
    2) 45 books in one year? Seriously??? And for a second there I was so proud myself for having managed 29!
    3) New Year’s resolutions: run 30km, travel to a foreign country, read 2 books a month, find a sugardaddy … You know, the usual.

    Reply

  5. Roz
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 21:50:08

    Here are mine:
    1) Be more straightforward with people and let them know more of what I am thinking
    2) Take better care of my teeth! I have terrible teeth and am quite lazy about doing anything more than brushing them for 30 seconds in the mornings and evenings (hope that’s not too much information!)
    That’s about all I can manage for this year, I think.
    Best of luck with your journey back to South Africa. Both my brothers have made the journey back to SA from the UK – one successfully and the other not so (he eventually went back to England).
    And I also agree that 45 books in a year is impressive, by anyone’s standards!

    Reply

  6. Po
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:02:44

    Sid: 1) yeasssss Cape Town. If it will have us :)
    2) I guess I got overwhelmed when a friend posted a goal of 100 books in a year, cos I didn’t even make half of that. I get really competitive with myself so at the end of this year I was like, come on you have to beat 42! I’m sure the same will happen this year.
    3) Sugardaddy, of course! I need to update my list. As to the 30km, no problem, that is the total for the year, right? Haha, there is no way I want to run 30km in a row after you freaked me out with those tales of madness and hallucination.

    Reply

  7. Po
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:07:13

    Roz: I really like your number one and I aspire to it, but I fail at it very often. My interactions with other humans are often far more complex than they need to be, and while I hope to simplify them, often I just make things worse. I really say the dodgiest things sometimes and then wish I had not told them what I was thinking.

    As to teeth, I take mine badly for granted as I have never had a filling or anything done in my life. I have been to the dentist twice in 8 years. Before that I did not go at all since the age of 11. One day all this toothy luck is going to bite me sharply on the bum I am sure. But a good resolution to be sure!

    We are planning to “try” moving back to SA, ie if we really cannot find work after a year, we will have little choice but to try something else. I really hope that does not happen!

    Another resolution I have is to slowly wean myself off caffeine and eventually give it up, but it will be so hard, when I stop I get depressed and sleepy and cannot think and cannot keep my eyes open. The withdrawal is so bad. I need to do it slowly but I am so scared!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

