A town where it used to snow.

*

Seeing as it has become clear to me (from Sunday, a few weeks ago, and time and time again) that Royal Leamington Spa is the only town in this freaking country where it does not snow (ever heard of the tropical paradise of Leamington Spa? Well, you should have) hence negating the point of suffering half a year of miserable cold weather, I wrote a song, nay a lament.

Here is my lament to Leamington Spa. Sung to the tune of Somebody I used to know, by Gotye. Please sing along.

 

Now and then I think of all the snowy weather.
like when it snowed I was so happy I could die
told myself that it would snow yearly
despite the data to the contrary
but that was cold and it’s an ache I still remember.

You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness
like resignation to no snow
always no snow
so when I found the weather made no sense
well my dissapointment was immense
and I’ll admit that I did consider relocating.

But you didn’t have to cut us off
be the only town to get infected with global warming
when all the other towns have snow
you stick out like a sore thumb and I feel so rough
Your temperatures were not so low
as all the other towns who snowed inches in record numbers
I guess I’m going to have to go
Now you’re just a town where it used to snow

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Prixie
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 04:09:36

    Hahahahah! Thanks for brightening my morning! This line: “You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness” has to be one of the best I have ever read.

    Reply

  2. seamonkeypo
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 09:30:48

    Prixie :)))))))))) well I pretty much mirrored the original words as much as possible so I cannot claim that line as my own :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

