Kongos

I cannot get enough of this song! It is driving me nuts that I cannot buy it anywhere in the UK yet. I am not a fan of pirating music (any more… there was a time… but no more. Artists deserve payment for their work). But in this instant digital age I am not good at waiting. I want this song and I want it now! Please guys…

Someone pointed out that it is kind of like the soundtrack to my life in the next few months. And so it is! I just hope that South Africans have not started driving on the right, as is portrayed in this video. I just don’t think I could deal.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dora
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 13:06:55

    Dude, where do you find your music?! I struggle to find nice new things to listen to but I realise you are a great source of recommendations! I found Adele through you and now this song is great! :)

    Reply

    • poseamonkey
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 21:22:22

      dora: I don’t know where I find it, I’m just lucky I guess! The internet definitely increases the possiblity of awesome discoveries. I used to use Twitter and found loads of links there, but I hate that thing, so now I just check out random Facebook posts and get lucky sometimes, I always feel so happy when I discover a song I really like, it’s like treasure to me.

      Reply

  2. Roz
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 19:42:31

    I have to second Dora’s comment :) … On another topic, doesn’t this couple in the video look so South African?! I used to live in Pretoria and they look like they belong in one of Pretoria’s posher suburbs. I can’t put my finger on why–something to do with his facial hair, the worried expression on her face, and the way she’s kind of following him rather than taking charge. Also, did you know that Kongos’ father was John Kongos who had some hits (including some international hits, I believe) in the 1960s?

    Reply

    • poseamonkey
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 21:22:13

      Roz: the girl looks sooooo South African to me, but I googled her and she is American. Don’t know her heritage though. The guy too, could pass for a Saffa. I had never heard of John Kongos til I discovered these guys but now I have! I think it was wise of them to aim for the Saffa market first, they definitely have that sound that is popular there. I cannot imagine this band being a success in the UK, the sound is all wrong. Of course I could be wrong.

      Reply

  3. Roz
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 19:41:20

    Ha ha, thanks for googling her… how disappointing that she is American! I like to think that I am good at identifying South Africans (especially in places like airports; it’s a good game to play). I live in the US and I could imagine the song being a hit here. I have to admit I have never been a big supporter of SA music, with the exception of Johnny Clegg and maybe Freshly Ground… somehow I could never find anything I liked.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

