Going to AFRICA.

I mentioned that I have been enjoying reading blogs by people from all over the world, many of them of religious faith, many of them who go out to places  to volunteer or to do missions. I love these blogs and I love reading them.

But there is something that really still gets to me and I cannot look past it. People usually write about travelling to India, the country. They do not say they are going to volunteer in ASIA. Or they say they are going to Romania, not EUROPE. Or Mexico. Or Haiti.

But when they are going to step foot anywhere on the continent of Africa, people still write, “I am going to Africa”. They don’t say the name of the country, just the continent.

I am not sure I can adequately explain how offensive this is to the people who actually live in Africa. There are so many countries in Africa, each of them vastly different in terms of politics and culture and history and landscape. It is not one huge chaotic continent covered in starving children and mud huts.

People living in Africa would greatly appreciate it if, when blogging about your trip to the continent, you would differentiate between the countries and the people.

Pretty please?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. paulabubble
    May 18, 2012 @ 09:22:37

    Hey you,
    this is me being a nuisance. although totally agree with your topic.
    But I saw this and have been listening to it religiously and has helped me with my writing immensely, because finally, no pressure.

    Also JK Rowling gives writing tips about how she writes, it may help you.
    I’m hoping it helps you with your writing.
    <3 Me
    I realize now I could have mailed you.
    Oh well, hopefully one of your readers will too be helped.

    Reply

  2. Prixie (@prixi3)
    May 18, 2012 @ 10:01:10

    I know! This really annoys me! This is not only isolated to people, but media coverage too.

    Reply

  3. poseamonkey
    May 18, 2012 @ 10:21:01

    Thanks Paula!!! I think I saw a link to that sometime and was like, oooh I must watch that. And then forgot. So it is cool that you sent me that, I will def watch it now.

    Prixie: I was not that bothered by it until I realised that even super intelligent socially aware writers do it, it feels like it is just a small thing but if people knew that it was offensive they would stop, because they really do care about that kind of thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

