Oddball.

I was reminded many times this past weekend of just how special and truly odd my BFG is.

We went camping and climbing with some new friends from work. Making new awesome friends when you are just about to leave is lame and is not helping my pathological sadness, but anyway.

One incident:

He knows how much I love coffee (and how hard it is to rouse me in the mornings when he is desperate to go climbing) so he packs some coffee in some of our old spice shakers. Currently the coffee resides in a chilli shaker.

Cue us making pasta that night. He thought it could use some chilli, and sprinkled coffee all over his pasta. I laughed like a banshee and then handed him the thyme shaker, which in fact  contained sugar.

Well, my bowl of pasta tasted fantastic. Snort.

Another incident:

We have this ancient water bottle lurking in the car that we use when we forget to bring other ones. It is all mashed and worn. The Germans made some comments about it. I doubt Germans would reuse a water bottle for years because they are too stingy to buy new ones, but this is what I am forced to live with.

Anyway, perhaps their comments made some impact on the BFG after all, because the next day I was chugging back some water and realised I was drinking from a sparkling new bottle, not our terrible green one.

I was confused and thought I had accidentally stolen the Germans’ bottle, so I asked BFG where he got the bottle from.

He said the  plastic recycling bin at the camp site.

I thought he was joking. He was not.

He got us a new bottle out of the dustbin.

The scary thing is, this is not the first time this has happened! The first time he did it he took one out of the normal everything rubbish bin. I hoped I had made it clear back then that this was not a practice I condoned.

Clearly I failed.

He is truly mad. How can I help but love him?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roz
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 14:04:41

    At least it was the recycling bin this time and not the normal rubbish bin–so an improvement!

    Reply

  2. poseamonkey
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 09:10:42

    Hmmmm, am trying to take comfort in that?! What a nut.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

