Emerging from the overwhelm.

Woah baby, it has been a long time since I checked in to this here blog. The last few months have just been mad so I have been hibernating.

First I left my job (sad, stressful), then we jumped on a plane to Mexico and travelled around Central America for 5 weeks (awesome but far too short), then we missioned on the longest flight EVER (Air Namibia, spanning four countries). Then we have been trying our best to settle back in to Cape Town, tackling every affadavit and piece of paper and formality that comes our way. We have not neraly finished all of these challenges yet. I still don’t even have a bank account or a legitimate proof of address. Or a phone line. Internet line. The list goes on.

We have a car and a place to sleep,  which is a good start, I think.

I don’t usually bother to write about my travels, but that is starting to feel like a bit of a cop out, so I am hoping to write about our Central American adventures here. I am so desperate to go back to Latin America. Would it be considered irresponsible to use up the rest of my savings going travelling when I am unemployed and supposed to be starting a new life in South Africa? It is exceedingly tempting.

I doubt anyone is reading any more, but when I get the time and internet access, the adventures of two gringos in Central America will feature soon!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 13:52:03

    PLEEEEEASE write about your travels! I want to travel but I have work and no leave time saved and stuff, so I have to do it vicariously.

    Welcome back to SA ;)

    Reply

  2. Po
    Sep 21, 2012 @ 07:08:07

    Thank you Helen!! I shall definitely write about my travels, just dealing with somewhat intermittent internet right now. I am very envious of your work, but the lack of leave is always a bummer.

    Reply

  3. Alicat
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 20:56:32

    I’m still reading! Interested to hear how you are finding CT. Blog and don’t leave anything out! x

    Reply

  4. Po
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 10:11:50

    Thanks Alicat, am loving being back in CT, am having fun with a camera while everything looks new and beautiful again. But am finding the admin side of moving country to be hell. It is taking so long to get little things like a phone line and a bank account. Argh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

